You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SNAP Food Stamp Challenge – Week 1 – Days 1, 2

in #food7 years ago

With dried beans - I sprout them. This means soak for a few hours and then pour of the water, keep them damp, and let them go a few days. You have to keep rinsing and adding water and draining maybe 2X a day. It usually will take me 2-3 days to be able to eat them. Just soaking for a few minutes and cooking for a long time does not work for me either and I would end up with hard beans.

Your meals are looking pretty good really. Good luck on continuing :)

Sort:  

Wow, what a process. I've read that if I cook them for 2-3 hours the beans can come out soft. Gonna try that and if it doesn't work will have to try your sprouting method.

Only put a small amount in a lot of water if you do for the soaking part. Like 1/8 beans and 7/8 water. Then you just keep them damp until they sprout. Good luck on the long cooking :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84