Bangkok Thailand Street Food Sushi Gluttony

in #food7 years ago

bangkok thailand street food dailyfoodchallenge sushi gluttony fitinfun.jpg

Yes, on this day, I needed two trays for my sushi feast in Bangkok Thailand. This spread actually took a few days to eat and it was wonderful. Sushi for breakfast! So yum.

I get each piece for 5 thb and they throw in some for free and give me a discount when I go off the rails like this time.

I was looking for the fish eggs and as you can see – I got them in the left hand tray. I have two baby octopus, tuna, shrimp, lots of omelet wraps, and lots of seaweed. So delicious! Maybe about $3 for the whole thing.

This particular type of sushi can only be found at the Sunday Market behind MRT Sutthisan between 4:00 and about 7:30 unless they sell out. It's worth the trip! My last Bangkok sushi post was about one of the weekday stands nearby. I have to be on my toes to be in the right place at the right time, when the sushi is there.

My Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera is not recommended.

You are viewing my entry for the dailyfoodphotography by @howtostartablog. Maybe you have some food photography you can enter too?

Would I be in SE Asia if I still weighed 275 pounds? I think I might have missed the trip. Anyone can get over obesity and live their dreams if I can.
Sharon fitinfun before after.jpg

Sort:  

fantastic look fruits colour

You're right it does! Did you think of entering these for yourself? You have good photos so give it a try!

Mmmmmm, looks tasty. Up here in Chiang Mai, I can get that 5-baht sushi anytime, at a neighborhood market. They don't have the salmon roe, but plenty of other fine sushi.

I did'nt know you were up there. How do you like it? I have not been so far but maybe one of these days.

Chiang Mai is very nice. Not as hot as BKK, and not as busy or hectic.

Have you been in BKK a long time? Do you like it? You called it a "nuthouse" in another comment.

I've been in BKK for only a few days at a time, but find the central areas to chaotic for me. However, once one gets to the outskirts of the city, there are some rather quiet and pleasant neighborhoods, which are essentially small towns.

The "nuthouse" is steemit lol.

I got here in March 2016 and spent some time in Udon Thani as well. I'm in a Thai neighborhood so no tourists and everyone knows me even if we can't really talk. I'm pretty much just working so it does not really matter where I am. But I do love it here.

I'm actually kind of a farm girl hippie but I love cities. I can live in the chaos or the nothing pretty well either way. Bangkok is just a feast for the eyes and the belly and keeps me highly entertained even if I'm barely ever out in it.

I have friends who really love your place though. One went to the big uni and keeps telling me I should go up there and teach. Are you up there "permanently?"

I see... I'm from rural Ontario, Canada, but lived in cities thru uni and after. Now, however, I prefer smaller, quieter places, but of course, some urban neighborhoods can be as peaceful and serene as a small town -- sometimes even more peaceful.

If you ever come up to CM, we can meet up for ... sushi.

lol - I will definitely do that - same if you pass through Bangkok. They have wonderful sushi in my tiny Udon market too! That is one foreign food that caught on in Thailand.

I'm going to do a post about the security systems in my neighborhood one day. They do things like place a cone or use a blanket to tell you not to come in when they are closed. No barrier whatsoever - but no crime either! I think about my friends in California and their motion sensing lights and alarms and really thank God I got out.

Ya, several of my US friends are glad to be out. Have you heard about the situation in Baltimore? Grim.

In reply, I'm here "semi-permanently." Hope you can understand what that means, cuz I myself aint so sure.

lol - that's me too. I can't explain my plans to anyone including myself. Possibly I'm going to Kuala Lumpur after this visa - not sure at all. I just need a cheap place to work quietly 24/7 with a source of healthy food and water.

I did hear of Baltimore. My theory is that this is a roll-out of martial law to see if people like it. They do! It's on the "news". The townsfolk are thrilled to be on lockdown and love their police.

One of the things that really bothered me in my last years in San Diego was the growing police presence. It was effecting me personally as an old lady and my son and his friends - esp those of color - are really having a hard time going through the days without being stopped. They are all about 20-30 years old - prime time to be a suspect for any random reason.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49