Bangkok Thailand Street Food Cooking for a Crowd dailyfoodphotography

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Last night I showed you a huge platter of BBQ Chicken Tails at 3 AM. Now you see the action end of the food cart. This is where it’s all coming from.

Bangkok Thailand 3 am street food grill daily food photography fitinfun.jpg

I still wonder where all the customers are. Will they soon arrive? Will he go elsewhere to sell all this food? Do people buy out of their cars when they go by at rush hour? I have no idea, but he’s making about 20 chicken wings over there and he already has that many cooked on a tray behind me out of the shot.

My new favorite Bangkok Thailand street food is the kidneys. Do you see those seven little balls of yum on the sticks in the middle? Delicious, tender organ meat for the win says this arthritic old lady. Seven of them!

The red pot has fragrant rice for an army. The pot is deeper than you can see and the steam flies when it's opened. My guy here really wants me to have some rice each time, but I don't get it.

All my food is on this side of the grill heating up. Don't judge! It's 3 am and I'm excited. That's 80 thb coming my way - so ok - maybe you can judge. It was very heavy in my purse and lasted 2.5 days.

You are viewing my entry for the dailyfoodphotography contest by @howtostartablog. Where is your food!

I’m using a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera. Not recommended!

Would I be in SE Asia if I still weighed 275 pounds? Anyone can get over obesity and live their dreams if I did.
Sharon fitinfun before after.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome. Is that Chinatown the birth place for such street food. :) No exploration of Bangkok’s street food is complete without a trip to Chinatown
But i dont know if you are very much familar with Philippines because i wonder why there is such a strong street food culture in Thailand and not the Philippines?

Although Thailand admittedly has a strong street food culture, the Philippines isn't lacking in it, believe me. Even during rush-hour traffic, you'll see vendors hawking everything from peanuts to gummy bears (I kid you not) amid the vehicles and boarding public buses to sell the stuff. And there are food stalls selling siomai, fruit juice, chicken skin, and waffles at the train stations, aside from the proliferation of fishballs, kikiam, etc. mentioned by Armando. Plus the country is known for such street food delicacies like balut.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Great post @fitinfun.
I lived in Bangkok for sometime and for almost a year to complete a cooking course at the Dusit Thani (for French cooking, ironically, not Thai). Here are some facts and observations.

The reason street food in Thailand is strong is because for most working people, street food is Thai people's everyday food. Contrary to what it may seem, most Thai do not cook at home, and because their lifestyle is hectic like ours (leaving early morning for work/school, going home in the evening, stuck in heavy traffic), they buy their meals on the go or purchase food during a break.

So do you tend to see the same vendors or does it change up? And do they use apps like a lot of food trucks here in the US...the food truck boom is crazy in most major cities. Funny how a food truck used to be viewed as low quality food and now they have massive followings.

It's the same person at the time they will be there. They might only be there for a short while. This guy is only there in the middle for the night down the street. The pork ball guy comes to my parking lot at a certain time so you have to be there. No one has apps. I just have to go to the right place at the right time. It's very confusing in the beginning but you get used to it.

I ate from food trucks in San Diego. I used to get Marlin Tacos with fish caught offshore and great veggies for $5. So good! Better than any restaurant and a ton of food. I have photos!

Our race track (horse) does a food truck day each summer and 20 or so trucks come. It's a great event and we find new trucks each year. But they are expensive because the type of event and it's mainly sample size...but worth it.

Most have apps around here and that makes finding them pretty easy. They tend to bounce around as the Chicagoland area is so big.

I like my food trucks cheap! But I'm sure that's some great food at the track and a fun time. In San Diego they stay put for half the day of all day. I was in "bad" neighborhoods but the food was great! Not too many restaurants.

There aren't enough of them around Chicago yet to drive down prices IMO. The demand is huge, but I think largely due to our weather there just isn't that incentive run a truck. Guessing during the winter their business wouldn't be very good.

The prices are better when you find them outside the track, sure the track gets their cut.

I love visiting San Diego. It's one of those places that you visit and wonder why on earth we live in the Midwest and deal with winters. But all our family is here and we see them on a regular basis. Not sure how we would adjust to not seeing everyone.

Can’t believe there isn’t a huge line already! All of that food looks so good!

lol - They're sleeping! This is my confusion. Everything is good in Thailand but the bbq is always my favorite.

Quick question, and nothing to do wit this... When you did your bx. sign up - did you use your thai address -matching your bank account ( or your uk address?)
cheers !

Thai address :)

good post friends. if you can know what is sate meat?

I think anything on a stick is sate, but I'm not sure.

Your post make me hungry :D
I want that.. Very delicious

Me too. It's hard to do these posts sometimes!

BBQ My Favorite Meals Many times street food is very tasty

My favorite too. It's easy to find it here.

It's looking really yummy and delicious. The way you have explained is enhancing my urge to taste it. You have made that guy worth appreciating. Bangkok is famous for it's richness of flavor and hospitality.

bangkok-street-food.jpg

Thai street food maybe Delicious !
i want test it,
one day i will go there .

This is just what it's like.

good looking kebabs!

They are. He's a pro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39