You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Essential Blog: How To Make Your Own Mead (Honey Wine) At Home!!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I brew mead. My main objective is to make it the way the ancients did though. No chemicals and only natural and organic ingredients are used. Right now I'm using glass, but the plan is to switch to barrels. The barrels will be prepped and left forever until they are opened to drink straight from them.

I've racked some mead off to let it age, but is simply doesn't last long enough... haha

You should try the hibiscus. I use 8oz (a cup) per 6 gallons. It is amazing and extremely healthy. That's the other objective I have. The plan is to make mead that is also a health tonic.

For example I've tried pineapple and kiwi, but they do not give any decent health benefit. Cherries, strawberries, blueberries, and other fruit do however, and they are directly linked to fighting cancer, etc.

The spices I add are also for health benefits, not just for taste!

Sort:  

I will definitely have to try that sometime soon!! Thanks for the tip..

I’ve tried some wild concoctions....with fruit and even agave. I made a mash out of apples and it turned into a
Really awesome cider. I actually cooked it first - which isn’t usually recommended but I think I created some non fermentable sugars that stayed at the end to add a tinge of sweetness.

The health tonic idea is great- you could make it really strong and bottle in it shot glass size bottles for a sick day... lots of possibilities for sure!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57