Diary of a Hearty Eater: Our Delectable Meal of 'Ginataang Alimango'

in #food6 years ago (edited)

DSC_6867.JPG

Disclaimer: This is not your typical recipe blog.

I have always been (and will always be) a lover of seafood. Fresh fish..clams...shrimps...squids..oysters..crabs...you name it, I'll eat it.

This weekend, we were very fortunate to receive quite a lot (a total of 3 Kg) of crabs from a family friend as a gift. Having quite a lot of crabs for us, my tita (she's my bestfriend's mom), prepared the crabs in different dishes. For today, she prepared, ginataang alimango or crabs with coconut milk (alimango is a local term for crab). I told tita that I'll be sharing her recipe to steemit and she gladly showed me how to do it and even offered the ingredients for me to take a photo. So, here's her recipe for her ginataang alimango:

Ingredients:

  1. steamed crabs
    IMG_20180415_194259.JPG
    raw crabs can also be used

  2. garlic
    DSC_6871.JPG
    a few cloves of garlic will do

  3. onions
    DSC_6875.JPG
    one onion should be enough

  4. coconut milk
    DSC_6878.JPG
    We used 3 cups of coconut milk. For best results, use a fair amount of these.

  5. cooking oil
    DSC_6879.JPG
    just use enough amount to saute the garlic and onion later

  6. liver spread
    DSC_6884.JPG
    Any liver spread brand will actually do, it just so happened that this was the available one we have at home. We used the whole can in our recipe.

  7. siling labuyo or chili pepper (optional)
    DSC_6905_1.JPG
    use a number of chili pepper based on your preferenced

The Procedure

  1. Put the oil on the frying pan and saute the garlic and onion. Be careful not to overdo the onion and garlic to avoid the bitter taste later. Add the sliced chili pepper.
    DSC_6901.JPG

  2. Add the liver spread. Mix well.
    DSC_6903.JPG

  3. Pour the coconut milk.
    DSC_6907.JPG

  4. Add the steamed crabs. Let it simmer for a few minutes until the coconut milk is cooked or until desired consistency.
    DSC_6912.JPG
    We sliced the crabs into halves for a better and faster absorption of the coconut milk and flavor.

  5. Serve ❤
    DSC_6946.JPG
    best served with a few cups of rice and an ice-cold soda

Our Sunday became extra special with this dish. Tomorrow is another day. 😊

I hope you enjoyed my post and my attempt to an almost-like-a-chef's-blog. Thank you for dropping by. ❤

All the best! {always}
~ filnette 🍀


Please don't forget to support @steemgigs and @ocd-witness by typing in "steemgigs" and "ocd-witness", respectively on the search box for witnesses in here.

If you also like @surpassinggoogle to make witness voting decisions on your behalf, just type in "surpassinggoogle" on the box alloted for proxy in here.

filnette.jpg

Sort:  

Wow this looks really tasty! I've never tried crab (something we don't have in our waters) but I'd really love to taste some of that :) If I ever stumble upon crabs in our shops I'll try to remember this recipe! Thank you :)

Thank you for dropping by @islanderman. Maybe we're just lucky to have this abundant in our waters. But I bet Finland waters also have other seafood that are not found in here. Most of us here (us including)actually prefer to just steam these to have a taste of freshness and seawater on them but we just tried something new today. 😊 Hope you can tag me next time when you try this recipe or just try to eat some crabs. 😊

Will do :) Yeah I love the fish we have in our seas. Soon I'm gonna make a post of me smoking perch with alder wood and maybe you can get some ideas back!

That's great to hear! I will definitely be looking forward to that.

They look so good! I love seafood too :-)

I would have included lobsters in my list but they are way too expensive for me. :) Have you tried the crabs as well?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70