We Made Our Own Kefir and You Can Too!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Kefir .jpg

We started growing our own kefir this week. It is surprisingly easy. You start with kefir culture grains. Add milk. Make sure to cover with a cloth or coffee filter to avoid fruit flies getting in the mix. Wait 24 hours and pour off the kefir. Ta Da! Delicious home-made kefir!

Basically it is foolproof. The only thing is to make sure your kefir grains don’t get put in a place above 85 degrees Fahrenheit or they will die. (Ask me how I know!)

It is healthy and delicious. Once I have enough grains, I think I will start sharing them with friends so that everyone can share in this deliciousness.

Sort:  

I know someone who makes her own krfir and Swears by it. I have also seen it in grocery stores (quite expensive).

Ok... how do you know the kefir grains will die... lol
Hey, you told me to ask!

Yes. It is much cheaper to make at home. I highly recommend giving it a try.

And yes, I killed some grains trying to dry them out as a backup in case one of my batches fail. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49