Tiger bread/ Dutch crunch bread recipe, no more store bought!

in #food7 years ago

I try not to eat much bread now this is worth indulging in! Easy to make even though I do not have electricity and food mixers now!FB_IMG_1500920319215.jpg
Bread dough
500g strong white bread flour
1.5 tsp unrefined golden caster sugar
1 tbsp softened butter
7g easy bake yeast
1.5 tsp salt
300 mls warm water
I basically put everything in a large bowl and add the yeast and then water last. If using a food mixer use the dough hook and knead until the gluten breaks down and the dough becomes 'elasticky'! Or it will take about 10 minutes to knead by hand.
I make mine into a round and put on a lined or oiled tray and wait till it doubles in size. When nearly doubles about 15 minutes from baking you make the topping. This amount will cover two loaves or just halve if making one.
15g active dry yeast
240ml warm water
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp vegetable oil
.0.5 tsp salt
360ml rice flour (white or brown not sweet or glutinous rice flour) this can vary depending on the rice flour so go more by consistency.
Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and whisk. The consistency should be spreadable but not too runny, it should drip off the whisk slowly, adjust if needed with rice flour or water. Leave it to stand for 15 minutes.
It will have become bubbly with the yeast working, spread over quite thickly, using hands is tge best method rather than brushing. I usually let it stand for another 15 minutes before baking but if you are pushed for time of making rolls you can bake straight afyer applying topping. Back in the centre of the oven until the topping cracks and is golden brown.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Goodlock in steemit.com

Welcome to Steemit.com

nice introuction. Followed. Follow me back 😘

I love tiger bread... unfortunately I am a lousy cook so I will keep buying it at the supermarket ;) thanks for the recipe, though!

welcome to Steemit @Fernweh:) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Welcome to Steemit @fernweh, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Many thanks! I will do!

Well done Soraya!!! Looks yummy!!!!

Thank you!

Congratulations @fernweh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

yam mi recepie love it looking forward to see your other posts

Thank you! I do have a couple on my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61