Low carb spring rolls

in #food7 years ago

So I decided to make spring rolls for supper a few nights ago. As I am trying to be as low-carb as I can, I used cabbage leaves instead of rice paper, and then baked them for 15 minutes.

2017-05-22 19.32.29.jpg

I had marinated some chicken the night before, grated some carrots and fried some muchrooms (as seen in picture). Then I placed the cabbage leaves individually in boiling water and left them cooking for a minute. This process is called blanching (I believe). What this does is that it makes it pliable and less prone to breakage. Just be careful and use tongs as I was not that smart!

2017-05-22 19.32.35.jpg

Once out of the water, I placed some chicken, carrots and mushrooms and folded it up like a wrap (basically top, side, side, and then roll till the end). Then I placed them on a baking tray and baked them for 15 minutes in a 180 celcius degree oven. The cabbage does not burn in the oven as it is quite moist.

VERDICT!!!

I like them and so did my youngest, but my eldest and husband were not impressed with the crunchy-crunch-crunch that comes with eating cabbage. So next time I will boil them for a bit longer and hopefully it will be less crunchy-crunch-crunch!

Can you offer any other alternatives for the fillings? Any other substitutions for the rice paper? Let me know. Thanks for stopping by!

Follow me!

Sort:  

I love cabbage!
This recipe is great for me but I suppose that children are not very happy :)
Thank you for recipe @fernandam!

I think it depends on the child... my youngest (who is 5) was so enjoying the experience of eating with his hands and getting rid of the fiddly knife and fork, so he adored it! My eldest, on the other hand, smiled through clenched teeth as he didn't want to break his mommy's heart :) Thanks for commenting.

Delicious and nutritious!

In every sense of the word! Thanks for commenting.

low carb recipe for the summer ! awesome! thanks for sharing ! :) upped and followed

Its a pleasure and thanks for the follow!

Congratulations @fernandam! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94