Spicy Stinky and Delicious!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

20180318_173047.jpg

This Indonesian dish exists of baby anchovies, tempeh, stinky patai/peteh beans and quail eggs! I couldn't give this dish a name because it is a dish with many unusual ingredients (for Western people). I remember the first time I ate quail eggs. It was my grandmother who made spicy quail eggs. I was still a teenager and lived at that time for a couple of years in Indonesia. When I wanted to to take a bite, I first asked her why the eggs were so small, were these eggs from a mini chicken? :-D. She just laughed, and said she would tell me after me tasting it. So I took a bite and really liked it. When she told me it was a BIRD'S egg, I felt a bit sick! It took a while before I could eat those eggs again. To be honest, they are super delicious!

Peteh/Petai/Stink beans

20180318_163553.jpg

Peteh or patai beans are very popular in Indonesia. They do really stink but it is a smell that makes you hungry even when you feel full. Peteh beans are healthy for you but they make your breath smell for couple of days. When you consume them you will also have smelly urine :-D. I wouldn't kiss after eating peteh beans, your partner won't kiss you back, LOL! Eating peteh/petai/stink beans will make you forget about kissing because they taste damn good!

Anchovies

20180318_160232.jpg

These are baby anchovies. I call them baby anchovies because they are so tiny and cute. They look like worms right?

Ingredients

1521487907767.jpg

18 fresh quail eggs

500 gram fresh tempeh (soy beans)

50 gram (frozen) baby anchovies

50 gram stinky Peteh beans

3 large fresh (frozen)lemon leaves. Needs to be fresh, dried lemon leaves taste like nothing.

1 fresh lemon grass

1 piece of fresh ginger

1 piece of fresh laos/galangal

9 shallots or 2 large onions

5 cloves of garlic

5 fresh chili peppers

6 full table spoon of chili paste

350 gram pandan rice


Instructions

tempeh.gif

Wash the rice and cook it using a rice cooker. Cut the tempeh in small cubes. Take a large wok and deep fry the tempeh till golden brown.

eggs.gif

The quail eggs can be boiled in the meantime. Take a small pan and add a teaspoon of salt. Boil the water and once the water is boiled, you can put the eggs carefully in the pan. Boil them for 4-5 minutes. After 5 minutes you can take the eggs out and put them in a bowl with cold water. After a minute or so, you can peel the eggs. I have to tell you, it take longer than peeling 18 normal chicken eggs. They are so small that you need to be careful that you don't damage the eggs.

20180318_155412.jpg

Once the tempeh cubes are golden brown you can remove them and leave them on a plate with kitchen paper to get rid of excess oil.

20180318_161038.jpg

Wash and drain the baby anchovies first because they are super salty! Take a small frying pan, add a bit sunflower oil and fry the baby anchovies for 3 minutes.

20180318_164819_1.gif

With a food processor you can mix shallots, garlic and chilli peppers together.

20180318_165554.jpg

Take a large non stick wok, add sunflower oil and once the oil is hot, you can fry the:

Screen Shot 2018-03-19 at 21.28.27.png

Keep stirring everything on medium heat.

20180318_170743.jpg

After 15 minutes the chilli paste and peteh beans can be added. Stir for another 10 minutes.

20180318_172440.jpg

At last you can add the remaining ingredients, the quail eggs and fried tempeh. Stirr everything for around 10 minutes and then you are done.

20180318_173117.jpg

20180318_173627.jpg

I don't use any salt in this dish because the chilli paste and also the baby anchovies are very salty.

Make sure you take a gum or two after eating this!

(PS: I am working on my dress part 6, making the ruffle peplum belt. So I will be posting it hopefully tomorrow!)

follow_fathin-shihab.gif

Sort:  

I love these kinds of dishes, the stinkier the better!

Interesting dish @ fathin-shihab. I am not familiar with most of the ingredients. I do not know if I would eat those eggs, but if you say they are delicious I trust you.
You did eat the stink beans, so... no kiss for you this week? LOL!
Thanks for sharing this recipe with us!

hehehe! They taste the same like chicken eggs. some say these eggs taste better than chicken eggs! hahaha, a kiss with my nose closed ;-D. you're welcome!

interesting. There are a lot of things in that dish that I havent cooked with myself or haven't ever even seen. I didn't realize that stink beans were a real thing. I've heard of them but didn't know that they were actually called stink beans. I like the taste of anchovies but i've never seen them like that before. I didn't realize that they looked like that. Very interesting dish.

Yes, many western people don't know these weird ingredients :-D. Yes, they really stink! The smaller the anchovies the tastier ;-). They look very funny and taste not so fishy. Thanks!

I like to find various food recipes. This time you posted Indonesian dish's tutorial how to make it. All details are indeed easily understand one. Nice you decided to share @fathin-shihab.

So yummy and ever delicious dish to have wow

Well it does indeed looks pretty delicious that I have to say !

Well i never had Quail egg to be honest ;)

Well Nicely made dish !

Thanks! yeah, it's quite unusual to many people :-). You should try it once!

I found Indonesia food has awesome looks and delicious choice to our tongue. Nice cooking lesson this time again @fathin-shihab. You have smart skills for made 3D designs and cookery lessons. I try to make these using your instructions.

hehehe :-D. thanks you @kingsberry!

It's being tasty and delicious food recipe. You posted awesome details and images how to make those dish very easily. Nice one @fathin-shihab. I'll try to make using your recipe.

Yes, you should try making this. Enjoy your dish!

Never eat that small bird eggs :-) Do they taste like the big chicken eggs? Very tasty looking the food. Can I do the bean Tofu as well myself or I have to buy it?

Yes, they do taste the same like the chicken eggs. ;-). I am not sure what you mean with the bean tofu. This is not tofu, but tempeh. Both tempeh and tofu are made of soy beans. But this is tempeh. Tempeh and tofu have been through a special process done at the factory :-D. It's like milk and cheese, two different products, but they come from the cow, in this case the soy beans. You can buy this easily in Asian supermarkets.

Loos VERY tasty, and yes, the ingredients are unknown to me.

Two days ago i saw the movie BURNT with Bradly cooper, check it out i think you gonna frigging love it :P

I saw the trailer, it's about food :-D

check it out. I checked two trailers and they are bad (it doesnt honor the movie well :P)

Yes, it's also very tasty as it looks. I will check the movie out one day :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59