Spicy Beef Balado (Indonesian)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

20180330_181836.jpg

I don't remember the last time I ate or cook something with beef. Normally if I eat meat, it's chicken, but most of the time I am vegetarian. Something that I just realised. Beef is also quite expensive here, so that is another reason I don't cook beef so often as chicken. I bought 750 gram of beefsteak and I paid 6 euros.

20180330_182514.jpg

I was eating this beef with my eyes closed, it was sooooo delicious! You should really give it a try. Unless you are vegetarian, then this is probably nothing for you. This Beef Balado is not too spicy, at least not for me. It is medium spicy and a bit sour. Best combination ever! The meat has a nice bite which means it is not soft but still soft enough that you can chew it. I like it when meat has a bite. I don't really like soft meat. It almost has the same structure as beef jerky, but not totally. (I suddenly am thinking to open my own Indonesian restaurant).

Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 20.52.11.png

Ingredients

20180330_161456-side.jpg

For Spicy Beef Balado you will need:

750 beefsteak

300 gram lombok chilli peppers

7 cloves of garlic

2 large onions

1 large tomato

3 tea spoon of vinegar

1 tea spoon of sugar

3 tea spoon of salt

sunflower oil

3 cups of pandan rice

Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 20.52.11.png

Instructions

nbv.gif

Cut the beefsteak in thin small slices (4x4 cm). Peel and mince the garlic. In a large bowl, add the beef, minced garlic and 2 tea spoon of salt. Leave the beef for 30 minutes.

20180330_171143.jpg

Wash the pandan rice and cook it using a rice cooker. (if you have one).

20180330_165803.jpg

After 30 minutes, boil 1.5 liter of water and pour it into a large wok.

20180330_165907.jpg

Add the beef into the wok with boiling water and let it cook till there is no water remaining.

20180330_171044.jpg

Cut the stalks of the lombok chilli peppers and cut the peppers in large pieces.

20180330_171936_1.gif

With a food processor, chop the chillies, onions and tomato.

20180330_173310.jpg

It takes about 30 - 45 minutes to cook the beef till there is no water left anymore. It should look quite dry. It started to smell good already because of the garlic.

bvcxxs.gif

Take a deep frying pan, pour enough sunflower oil and fry the beef slices till they are golden brown. Make sure they are not totally dark brown.

20180330_180259.jpg

Take the wok used in the beginning and add some sunflower oil. Fry the chilli mix for about 15 minutes till they become soft. After 15 minutes, add the vinegar, remaining salt (1 tea spoon) and sugar. Stir for another 5 minutes. At the end, add the beef into the wok. Mix another 15 minutes to get the flavours all mixed and absorbed in the beef.

20180330_182239.jpg

Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 20.52.11.png

Dinner is ready! The spicy beef has a nice hint of sour taste because of the vinegar. I am still drooling looking at these images even though I ate already. Maybe I go for a second round now. :-D

20180330_181937.jpg

Are you also getting hungry looking at these images?

follow_fathin-shihab.gif

Sort:  

Wow seems fantastic and spicy hot lovely work time to eat :D

hehehe, yes, its spicy and delicious :-)

wow fantastic food i like this food...

the menu was nicely served and the dishes looks so interesting and yummy wow

Looks like a great recipie,thanks for sharing......////////

just delicious...
191.jpg

I like sambalado very much @fathin-shihab. That is my favourite sambal. Sambalado make food feel delicious.

hehhee,yes my favourite too :-). I agree, sambal makes food much more delicious.

Looking reallyyyyyyy tasty, i like spicy food A LOT.

Thank goodness :-). Yes, me too ;-). thanks!

I know a friend who'll love this recipe! Thanks for sharing!

you're welcome ;-)

Mmm this looks really tasty! Is it quite spicy? I love some heat in my food, but I'm curious how the kidlets would handle it. lol

Thank you :-).It is quite spicy. :-). My kids can eat it. They are 7,5 and 6 years. The youngest actually can not eat spicy. But he likes beef, so he gave it a try. Now he loves it! :-D.

Awesome! I'm hoping to gradually convert my kids to spice-lovers, the way I converted my husband. lol My son used to love food with a bit of heat, and now he's on a sort of bland kick... I think I actually read something about a taste change around the age of 4 or 5, when kids typically prefer more bland foods. It kills me, because I love flavor!

Yeah, I know. My kids also don't mind to eat cooked veggies and potatoes with only a bit of salt :-D. At least it is healthy for them. But it is also nice that I don't have to cook 2 times a day different meals :-D. So this time they just had to eat what I prepared. Good that you converted your husband into spicy food lover!

You've ability to make various kind of foods and we have already known more food recipes via you. This time tasty food recipe again. Thank you for sharing @fathin-shihab.

You're welcome @dragonking! Yes, with me, always tasty food :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84