Fermented Kimchi

in #food7 years ago

Hi all.

I have been playing around with fermenting for a short while. I started out making beer, then sauerkraut, then dilled fermented veggies, and I thought I would share my latest batch of Kimchi. I have made 2 batches before but today I am trying a new (to me) simple recipe. I should be able to post a result in about a week, after the little bacteria have done their magic. If any of you are more experienced I would value your comments/suggestions.

Anyways here's this evening so far...
A Napa cabbage, Garlic, Chili pepper powder, Daikon, Fresh ground ginger and fish sauce
IMG_20170628_1819284.jpg
I chopped the cabbage up into about 3/4 inch pieces, mixed up the pepper powder, crushed garlic, ginger and fish sauce. Then soaked the cabbage in a brine of sea salt and filtered water, and diced up the daikon. I kinda squished the cabbage a bit with my hands, because I had done that making sauerkraut before. I then enjoyed that micro-brewed beer while the cabbage soaked.
IMG_20170628_1849365.jpg
Drained the cabbage and stirred it all together, then shoved it all in a big gallon jar. I folded a clean cabbage leaf over the top and put a piece of the daikon on top to keep everything under the brine, that I added (fresh brine, not the stuff I soaked the cabbage in earlier).
IMG_20170628_1859267.jpg
Anyway, once this stuff ferments, I should have a spicy flavorful batch of pro-biotic goodness!
I'll keep you posted about how this simple kimchi goes and feel free to comment, Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @fat-elvis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84