Exploring Garlic Festival in Meeniyan - Victoria, Australia

in #food7 years ago

Hi everyone,

IMG_0864.JPG

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, our family enjoyed a day out on a garlic festival and it was such a family friendly experience with lots of food to try and some cool kids activities. I love how you can get inspired on every corner, I love supporting small local farmers and I can show my kids how to appreciate good quality produce. We could stock up our pantry on few essentials like honey, comfit garlic (which I am going to attempt making by myself), blueberry jam, selection of chilies and some cider/ bear selection.

IMG_0729.JPG

IMG_0818.JPG

IMG_0822.JPG

IMG_0869.JPG

IMG_0874.JPG

IMG_0872.JPG

We also enjoyed some yummy foods like calamari and stake and to mark the festival we tried garlic ice cream and milkshake, they were surprisingly very delicious and opened our minds to new possibilities.

IMG_0829.JPG

20180217_124221.jpg

IMG_0847.JPG

IMG_0755.JPG

20180217_105117.jpg

IMG_0756.JPG

IMG_0731.JPG

If you have a opportunity to attend this kind of family event I recommend taking part, because it is great time spend together and also chance to learn something new on cooking classes. It creates possibility to engage in conversation with local growers to help develop bigger understanding of their products and appreciate ingredients we use every day.

Sort:  

Wow. I love garlic. Never had garlic ice cream before but I had scallion ice cream and it was good!

That's awesome, Garlic is such a great thing to add to all meals!

Yes it is and so versatile, I will need to explore it's many uses.

Garlic (alluium sativum) is a spice crop belonging to the family Alliaceae. Today garlic Is a widely recognized health enhancing supplement lovely post great to see this kind of post

It is good to promote healthy foods and this festival had some classes for health benefits

I cook with garlic daily, but I've never heard of garlic ice cream. I will be on the lookout for it. Your pictures of all of the food look so yummy. I love that you are sharing all of this with your kids. Great post!

Thank you and yes we do involve kids in everything :)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @tomekkk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84