Saturday Night Carbonara with Mark and Bianca

in #food6 years ago (edited)

What's up Steemians?!

Last night my friends @exyle Mark and @bkdbkd Bianca stayed over while their project "Kill Mickey" was in final stages of completion, so we decided to spend the night having beers, wine and some very delicious Carbonara Pasta. I've had my share of learning curve when it comes to Carbonara. The first four or five times I cooked it, I made either an omelette or a raw egg pasta soup, it was tragic. After the last failed attempt I was pretty upset and thinking of giving up, but I never let frustration get the best of me when it comes to cooking food, so I did more research and tried one more time with some adjustments, and pronto, made my first successful Carbonara about 8 months ago! Ever since then I've been watching more chef's videos and learning more details (when it comes to Carbonara, it's all about the fine details), and perfecting the recipe. Today I bring my amalgamation of everything I have learned and share with you the Spaghetti Carbonara by Fabrews recipe!

1.jpg

Ingredients for two:

  • Half a package of Spaghetti (Ideally No.12)
  • Three Egg Yolks
  • 50g of Pecorino Cheese, finely grated
  • 20g of Parmesan Cheese, finely grated
  • 150g of Guanciale, sliced in strips
  • 1 table spoon of finely chopped Chives
  • Salt and Black Pepper to taste

So I start off by putting some Spaghetti Size No. 12 to cook, I prefer the 12 since it's slightly thicker than regular spaghetti, but not quite as thick as Linguine, though feel free to use any one of those, the only important thing is that you use dry pasta, since fresh pasta will not resist the cooking process and will break apart. The package says it should cook for 10 minutes for al dente and 12 minutes for full cook, so I'm going to cook it for about 9 minutes since the final minute or two will be cooked while mixing up the sauce.

7.jpg

I'm going full classic recipe for the sauce here, 3 Egg yolks and 50g of finely grated Pecorino cheese. The egg yolks can take a higher temperature than the whites and they are the part of the egg which emulsify and create the cream, so you really don't need the whites. As for the cheese, the choice of pecorino is to add a little more spiciness to the sauce than parmesan. I mix the yolks with the cheese and keep them aside. As for the meat, I selected some premium Guanciale, a cured pork cheek which I bought at the Little Italy shop in Rotterdam Blaak. You can also use pancetta or even bacon, but the traditional recipe calls for Guanciale, which has a higher fat content and packs much more flavor and aromas than the other two options. After chopping the guanciale in strips, I grilled it on medium heat in a skillet which will also be used to prepare the sauce later.

10.jpg

While the guanciale gets nicely browned in the skillet, the pasta will be ready to be poured in. Use a pair of tongs to remove the pasta from the water and pour it directly into the skilled, do NOT throw the water away. Mix everything together so you can get the pasta coated in all of the oil and guanciale crusty bits. Add about a half a cup of pasta water and remove from the fire.

11.jpg

After the water in the skillet cools down a bit and stops boiling completely, it's time to add the egg yolk and cheese mix. Once on top of the pasta, take your tongs and mix the egg quickly and thoroughly with the pasta, adding more water as needed to make the sauce. If you add too much water, bring it back to the fire on very low setting and cook it a bit further slowly and without boiling, but you should not have to worry too much about the water however, because the pasta will continue to cook as you mix the sauce and will absorb a lot of water.

5.jpg

Right before serving, sprinkle the chopped chives and season with salt and a good dose of black pepper, which really is the "soul" of the pasta.

4.jpg

Check the sauce just before serving, you will often find that it can quickly soak into the pasta and dry up, if this happens, add a final bit of hot pasta water before serving and mix. Garnish with grated parmesan cheese. Finito!!

3.jpg

We paired this delicious dish together with and Italian red wine from Toscana, but you will find that it also pairs well with white wine.

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did, have a good Sunday evening!

Cheers.

1.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for this wonderful recipe. I have the same trouble with carbonara and I am certainly going to try your recipe.

Thanks I hope it turns out as good as you aim for, and I do suggest that you buy some guanciale and pecorino at the Little Italy shop in Rotterdam Blaak because they make all the difference!

cheers.

We lived with Italians when we were living in London. They were Sam's friends from his school days in Rome. Everyone ended up in London after University. Anyway, we know how much passion goes into cooking pasta and how much work goes into preparing the perfect pasta dish. Yes, you can make an easy simple pasta dish, but it probably won't taste the same as what we were served back in those days. It seems like you have found 'almost' the authentic way of preparing Carbonara (would skip out on the chives, but it's adds colour and is your touch, so don't take our advice). Ah, we miss a well-prepared bowl of pasta!
Thanks for the recipe and glad you got to spend time with Mark and Bianca. Hope the mouse is gone!

✈️👫

Thanks, I agree cooking pasta properly is not as easy as it seems and yes I'm aware that the chives aren't part of the original recipe but it does add a touch of freshness to it that matches perfectly. Same goes if you add thin slices of leek during the guanciale grilling process, but then the difference to the original would be more obvious in the second case.

It's your own creation and we like it! We're just trying to remember what our friends did and we remember that they saved some pasta water to add to the last 'cooking' process when the egg is being cooked by the heat of the pasta. The salted pasta water helps retain some moisture that gets lost as the beaten eggs are cooked. Is guanciale pretty much the same as pancetta?

Nope guanciale takes spices in the preparation and has a more unique flavour which reminds me of spanish Jamon Iberico, nothing like like it though.

Ah ok, more flavorful with the spices, but still (at least from the pictures) looks fatty like pancetta. Good addition to the dish ;)

Pancetta will substitute just fine ofc, it's also delicious. Guanciale is just more rich but it's pretty hard to find unless you got an Italian deli nearby.

Mickey isnt in the pasta is he 😬 heerlijk recept ga het proberen het is me nog nooit gelukt anders ga ik bij little italy iets kant en klaar kopen. Fijne avond

Haha nope Mikey is not in the pasta..

I found your blog through @exyle's post about going to the Italian deli. He said you would post about the carbonara ... and here it is! My husband would love it if I made this for him. I'll have to try it out for a special occasion. Sounds like you have it perfected - thanks for sharing!

I'm glad you liked it!

dang it, now I am hungry. It does look delicious though. You really do seem to have got the hang of it. Have you ever made your own pasta @fabrews? I am so hopeless at that. LOL

Yeah home made pasta isn't too difficult and it's totally worth it. Except for Carbonara where you really need dried pasta. Worth making your own though, go for it!

Quite true, I forgot that Carbonara works better dried pasta.
i guess it is just me that can't make fresh pasta very well then. maybe one day I will get the hang of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67