Food with Francis #2 - Korean and Mexican food? A perfect duo.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hey there fellow Steemians! It's been a while since my last post as I've been pretty busy but i was finally able to try out a new restaurant to share with you guys this past weekend! I went to this neat little shack called Seoulmate in Long Beach, CA where they serve Korean and Mexican Fusion. It's not really an indoor restaurant type of place. It's more like a storefront where you just order some food at the window and they have an outdoor dining area to the side. Their building is pink though so if you drive by, I'm sure you wouldn't miss it! You'll have to drive a little past them and turn the corner of the street to find some parking though.

IMG_20170701_163235.jpg

IMG_20170701_161556.jpg
This was their outdoor waiting area. They had some really cool artwork all throughout the establishment.

menu.jpg
This was their menu. As you can see, a majority of the menu items were traditional Korean dishes such as Bulgogi, Spicy Marinated Pork, and Kimchi re-imagined in a Mexican element ranging from a Torta, Burrito, or a Taco. I'd say the prices were pretty fair as I was pretty stuffed after my meal.

IMG_20170701_161559.jpg
This was the window where you could order your food and pick it up from as well.

IMG_20170701_163201.jpg
The outdoor dining area was pretty small. They had about 6 tables but the artwork was really nice in here as well and there was a lot of greenery around the area which created a very pleasant atmosphere.

IMG_20170701_161728.jpg
A closer shot of the mural. They had some cool character cameos in there such as the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Darth Vader, and Batman and Robin.

spicy pork burrito.jpg
And finally, what you've all been waiting for...the food! I got the Spicy Pork Burrito. In it was their Lime Rice, Spicy Pork Belly, Kimchi, their special Seoulmate Sauce, and some Sriracha. You could add Avocado for 75 cents and an Egg for 50 cents but I chose not to add them to my burrito. Overall, I really enjoyed my burrito. It wasn't too spicy and that's coming from a guy who can't really handle his spicy that well(although I do love eating spicy food!). If I had any qualms about this burrito, it would be that I felt that their tortilla was a little too thin for the juicyness of the burrito! But other than that, it was very satisfying!

Bimbimbap.jpg
My date got their Bibimbap which is a traditional Korean dish that can be found in most Korean restaurants so it didn't really have much of a Mexican twist to it. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Bibimbap, it is basically a Korean Version of a Chipotle bowl. In this Bibimbap, there was Grilled Zucchini, Mushrooms, Carrots, Bean Sprouts, Spinach, and some Fresh Cucumber topped with a Sunny Side Egg over some White Rice. They have the option to add some Bulgogi Beef or Tofu for an additional $2 but my date decided not to get them. Although, as you can probably see in the picture, they still gave us some Bulgogi for free anyway! So that was pretty cool of them. You also get a little container of Gochujang on the side. Gochujang is a Korean hot pepper paste. She said it wasn't the best Bibimbap she's eaten but it was still pretty good. I don't really eat Bibimbap too often so I didn't have much to compare it to but I thought it was quite delicious as well. It's $10.50 but they honestly give you a lot for the price. We had to take it to-go because we couldn't finish it haha.

Well, That's all I have for you guys this time. If you guys ever try this place out, let me know which dishes you guys like in the comments. I'd love to hear about how tasty some of their other menu options are. Till next time Steemit!

Sort:  

Congratulations @f-ang! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78