Brussels Sprouts With Bacon

in #food4 years ago

EyesClosedCooking-BrusselSproutsWBacon---04.jpg

I fry a lot of bacon around here. Many of my recipes have bacon as a main ingredient. Have you tried my Bacon Pesto Pasta, anyone? It’s to die for. The flavor combination is too delicious to even describe. Bacon tends to do that to most dishes. And don’t even get me started on Brussels sprouts! They have the best texture whether they’re fried, baked, steamed, you name it! And they retain all the taste of the spices or toppings you cook them with. So, I’m sure you can imagine what an amazing combination these Brussels Sprouts with Bacon made.

EyesClosedCooking-BrusselSproutsWBacon---02.jpg

EyesClosedCooking-BrusselSproutsWBacon---03.jpg

This is an incredibly easy recipe with simple ingredients and directions. First step is of course to fry the bacon. I usually cut my bacon (using kitchen scissors) into small bite sized pieces before frying. It makes the job so much easier, quicker and the bacon fits better in the skillet this way. Once the bacon is perfectly crispy, you’ll store it on a paper towel while you cook the Brussels sprouts. Make sure to leave the bacon grease in the skillet! Bacon grease is a great alternative to butter or oil because it gives your dish a richer, more savory taste.

EyesClosedCooking-BrusselSproutsWBacon---01.jpg

For this recipe I used frozen Brussels sprouts because it cut the cook time significantly. But feel free to use fresh Brussels sprouts if you desire. They might need a little extra time to tenderize in the skillet so be sure to adjust the cook time accordingly. The frozen ones took less than 10 minutes to heat through all the way. Once the Brussels sprouts are done cooking, you’ll add the bacon pieces back into the skillet and mix everything together for the final touch. Simple as that!

EyesClosedCooking-BrusselSproutsWBacon---06.jpg

I can’t emphasize enough how easily and quickly you can have this side dish on your table! It’s the perfect compliment to any dinner. I personally made them alongside my Pierogies With Garlic Green Beans recipe. But if that’s too many green vegetables for you in one meal, you can also try making them alongside something meaty, such as these BBQ Ribs. Read on for the full recipe and let me know your results in the comments below! 🥓 🍽 🥦 🐖

EyesClosedCooking-BrusselSproutsWBacon---05.jpg

PREP TIME: 5 MINUTES
COOK TIME: 20 MINUTES
SERVES: 4 PEOPLE

Get the full Brussels Sprouts With Bacon recipe on my website here! 🥓 🍽 🥦 🐖

ECCLogo_01.png

And be sure to follow me on Steemit @eyesclosedcookin

Sort:  

This recipe is exquisite. It is also easy to prepare and several diners can be served. The photographs fit you very well! I'm that I want to eat the screen hahaha. Regards @eyesclosedcookin

Haha! That's a good sign that you want to eat the screen! c(= Thank you for the compliment, I hope you are able to try it out soon!

You make brussel sprouts look so good @eyesclosedcookin! I love your photos and the recipe does look very easy to prepare. Healthy too!
I am surprised that frozen brussel sprouts cook in half the time than fresh ones? I realised that the okras are the same too. I wonder why.

Thank you! Brussels sprouts are seriously addicting. I think the reason frozen veggies cook faster is because the process of freezing and thawing makes the veggies not as "firm" as fresh ones. So they heat through a lot faster.

Ah that makes sense. The okras too become really soft after thawing.
I have not tried much brussel sprouts and you have tempted me to :)
Thank you and happy Sunday to you!

Hi, I'm also a lover of cooking, your recipe is incredible, very well explained on your website, it looks easy to make, I loved the very sharp pictures. I congratulate you for your good art in the kitchen and curie vote.

Thank you! I appreciate that very much. It is definitely an easy recipe to make. I hope you're able to give it a try sometime!

Congratulations @eyesclosedcookin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 80 posts. Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi eyesclosedcookin,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28