Halo-halo in the Philippines

in #food8 years ago (edited)

This stuff is awesome. Strictly speaking, it's supposed to be called "haluhalo," but it's come to be known as "halo-halo," and that's what it's called at all the restaurants and food stands around here. The purple stuff on top is ube (purple yam) ice cream, and it's my favorite. It also contains shaved ice, agar jelly, leche flan, condensed milk, banana, and more. The first time I had it, I thought it was supposed to be enjoyed as served (above), but @awesomenyl told me to mix it all together and then eat. Go figure.

Anyway, the halo-halo above is from a fast food place called Mang Inasal. If you're ever in the Philippines, stop by one of their locations and try it!

Sort:  

@expatlove Haluhalo is indeed one of the best desserts you can find in all of Asia!! Plus it's really affordable! I had a friend come over from the UK and treated him to this dessert.
We had at Razon's at Manila Bay in the Philippines!

Razon's? I'll have to go there; my wife says their halo-halo is good. Right now I'm thinking about the buko pie from Los Baños, though. :-)

Something new to try! Thank you!

You're welcome! It's really good!

very beautiful and appetizing)

Looks delicious. I love yam

The purple ice cream really is my favorite part. There seems to be ube (purple yam) everything around here. A few houses down, I can buy ube shakes, and down the street, I can buy either sticks or patties of a pasty ube snack. I'll get some tomorrow and post a picture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72