Cinnamon-Ginger Butter Cookies [recipe]

in #food7 years ago

Those are the quickest and my favorite cookies. The recipe is so darn easy that even if you skip some of the extras - it will be fine.

You don't have whole-grain flour, or don't like it - use all purple one.
Swap the spices, skip them, add some more. They will come out nice.
You can add nuts, raisins, seeds, peanut butter, chocolate chips... Just do as you please :)

Cinnamon ginger butter cookies.jpg

For lots and lots of cookies you will need:

– 1 glass of all purpose flour
– 2 glasses of wholegrain wheat flour (or all purpose)
– 1 teaspoon of baking powder
– 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
– 1 teaspoon of ground ginger
– 2/3 glass of icing sugar
– little pinch of salt
– 250 g of real, unsalted butter (please do not use margarine!)
– 1 large egg

Mix all dry ingredients together.
Add cold butter and work it into the flour with your hands to get fine crumbs… something like wet sand. Then add one egg and mix all together just until combined. Form a ball, flatten it, wrap into a foil and leave in the fridge to cool for 1-2 hours. This will help to form little balls later.

Now set the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Put some baking paper on the trays. Form little balls (walnut size) of dough, and flatten it a bit. You can use hand, bottom of the glass or a fork, like I did to get the cute pattern.
Bake for about 15-18 min until slightly golden brown. Eat as soon as you can hold it and don’t burn the fingers. After the are completely cool they will be nice and crunchy.

*glass = 250ml

suzi cookies.jpg

Kitty approved ;)

Sort:  

Looks great. I'll try it 😉

Thanks!
Please do and let me know if you liked them :)

Fooood!!! Foooood!!! Gimme, gimmeeeee!!!

Only if you ate all your veggies! :D

Have a cookie then :)
I see you managed with you avatar!

Oh God seem so good to eat!! Nice kitty, good taste!

They are absolutely delish... I actually just had one with my coffee :)
Kitty says thank you!

This is great. I'm following you. :)

Thanks a lot :)

The cat is imprisoned for theft.....

I had to stop her! She loves everything sweet :)

I've never heard of cinnamon -ginger snaps before. I like ginger snaps so maybe the cinnamon will and a little different flavor to it. I'll have to check it out and make some. Sounds like a simple recipe. Thanks for sharing.

I honestly don't know what is the difference between a cookie and a snap.
The recipe is super simple. Let me know if you liked them :)

Can't go wrong with peanut butter in a cookie! It's nice to see Suzi!

I will have to post my truly peanut butter cookies then :)
Suzi will pop in from time to time.

haha -- more peanut butter! And Suzi!

Nothing can beat that :P

Gi mi sum food says that cat. Great article :)

Haha She is a beggar on a Pro level ;)
Thanks a lot!

any kind of butter cookie is a good thing.

That is so true! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35