The Ramen House of Dreams

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171019_114351.jpg

Cellist. Guitarist. Singer. Composer. Film maker. Ramen shop owner? The ramen shop of dreams. This was the progression we saw our good friend Ernest take over the years, culminating in the recent opening of Yume Wo Katare Taipei. As I found out, Yume Wo Katare roughly translates to "share me your dream", and is a chain originating from Japan. Of course, being in Taiwan this was a must visit!

The theme of the place definitely fits Ernest. He is a dreamer, and what better than a place for dreamers to share with other fellow dreamers, over a nice steamy bowl of ramen!

This first picture above is one I took from the outside. Blue as the sky, and with enticing ramen art.

IMG_20171019_114433.jpg

Here it is up close. Yummy, yummy ingredients.

IMG_20171019_114441.jpg

The art on the other side, as well as store hours. Very cute hand-drawn cloud-like lettering.

IMG_20171019_114551.jpg

The man himself, ready to get the ramen flowing.

IMG_20171019_114841.jpg

As you enter, you are greeted on the left with a ordering machine. This is where you place an order and pay. There are two choices, regular and spicy, and two sizes, small and large. The sign says "no take outs! sorry!" Pretty standard for a ramen place.

IMG_20171019_125239.jpg

Along the wall, people come and post their dreams. It is a requirement to eat. Dreamers only! (Not really). There are some fun ones to read. They range from the desire to lose weight to becoming famous and starting a business. What's the perfect, good job, and almost about? Well, read on and you'll see. Maybe you can guess.

IMG_20171019_114602.jpg

In the back is an illustration about the noodle making machine. There's a video of it in action on their facebook page too.

IMG_20171019_121228.jpg

Here is my ramen, original flavor! It's quite different than other ramen that I have had before, it reminds me of Taiwanese soup noodles somehow. Maybe from the minced pork. The portions are very generous and it tasted great. Satisfies my ramen craving.

IMG_20171019_121219.jpg

This is the spicy version. I'm a bit disappointed in how these pictures turned out, as I remember it looking much better. It doesn't show the depth of the toppings, and the spicy picture looks like one hot mess. But it was good, I tried some of it too. My favorite is the slice of fatty pork on the top, very tender.

I didn't take other pictures, but I want to share some other cool tidbits. The space fits about 15-20 people, and was completely filled up as lunch went on. After things cooled down a bit, Ernest and the other employees (who were his friends and fellow band members) made a dreamy announcement.

The ramen house of dreams is a place of reflection. Whatever dream, big or small, you can declare to the world, and we'll support it enthusiastically. The process of enjoying the ramen, and reflecting on your dream will be a small seed to help fulfill your destiny.

Remember the Perfect, Good Job, and Almost painted earlier? That refers to the state of your bowl after you have finished. They say a prefect clean bowl will bring you many steps closer to your dreams. An "almost"? Well, that's fine too. Actually, I'm not exactly sure what that's all about, but as we finished and paid Ernest and the gang would enthusiastically yell "Hey! We got a perfect! Good Job!"

They also shared some of their own dreams. One to be able to share great music with the world, one to make the world a better place. Another declared, "My dream is to stay hot, forever!" Each dream greeted with an enthusiastic Alright! Great Dream! Overall, a very peculiar ritual for a ramen place.

My dream, you ask? To help make Steem a success, of course. To be able to share my thoughts, travels, and random musings to whoever will listen, and realize the dream of a successful Steem community, and thus a successful Steem economy. I didn't say it out loud though, because I am pretty sure I would have confused everyone there. It's been a fun experience so far in Steem land, that's for sure.

Next time you get ramen, maybe throw a dream in there too! And if you get a chance, visit one of these dreamy ramen places. It may change your destiny, after all!

Facebook Page: Yume Wo Katare Taipei

!steemitworldmap 25.04072 lat 121.55125 long Yume Wo Katare Taipei D3SCR

Sort:  

the pictures doesn't make true justice to the dish, but don't worry my friend I can apprecieate high quality food when I see it!... and I can see great flavors from this ramen!!!!

What a great little philosophical place of peoples dreams...

The ramen looks awesome and the sticky notes with dreams written on them just make it super likeable.

I would love to eat Ramen there, the spicy version. Ramen without spice is boring!
 
Seperator.png

"The ramen house of dreams is a place of reflection. Whatever dream, big or small, you can declare to the world, and we'll support it enthusiastically. The process of enjoying the ramen, and reflecting on your dream will be a small seed to help fulfill your destiny."

Seperator.png

People nowadays never support your dreams. They always neg you. Not even our parents nowadays support us. If I have learned one thing from them it is that I don't want to be like them and that I will reach my dreams or die doing so.

And I will be the best father ever.

Seperator.png

This post deserves more attention Eon. So well written and formatted. I am gonna resteem and upvote this post, it is all I can do.

Thank you!

Agreed on the general negativity. I wonder if it's because parents don't want kids doing the risky career even if it's what they dream about.

Growing up I didn't have dreams. I was pretty boring.

I wanted to be a pro gamer when I was 14 and I didn't go to school much. I should have kept doing that (skipping school) because nowadays I am self-employed because I never wanted to work for someone else anyway.

Funny how things turn out.

Awesome shop with yummy Ramen....thanks for sharing!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=eonwarped
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-ramen-house-of-dreams


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62312.95
ETH 2458.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65