Sort:  

The skins on these peppers can make the dish you're preparing taste bitter. Some people think it's ok; some don't. So, it depends on if it's worth it to you.

Also part of the reason is aesthetic. The pepper skins can blacken in places in the roasting process -- and darken the food with a kind of grayish tinge if they're chopped fine or pureed -- which isn't as pretty a presentation.

Finally, little pieces of the roasted skin can sometimes be like finding a little bit of cellophane in your food. You really don't want that in the meal you're eating. (That's why you peel garlic and the first several layers off an onion when you cook.)

That said, a lot of the peeling of all fruits and vegetables has to do with texture preferences. I don't peel tomatoes when I cook with them and I leave the skin on the mashed potatoes I make. They're not "smooth and creamy" like grandma's, but they're actually healthier -- and we like them. A little more "getting used to" was to leave the skin on apples when I make apple crisp -- but it didn't take long.

Again, it's healthier to do it that way -- and it sure saves a lot of work and waste.

all that said do you leave the skins on green chillies on or off? does it depend on the dish? im going to try the hot sauce recipe someone left as a comment. i froze most of mine but left some out for playing around with 😁

Usually off, because I do prefer it that way, but it does depend on the dish. I use green chilis less than some of the others -- jalapenos, habaneros, cayenne, etc. The Weasel and I like it hot. (Still, I've never had the nerve to try datils. Even I have limits.)

I'd say ... try different things with yours. See what you think; see what you like. Some of the best fun with food is "winging it." (And Lord, I have made some wonderful meals doing that.)

lovely and thank you for the helpful hints! i have yet ot cook with habanero but i had the most delectable habanero jam that i will share the recipe and making of soon. amazing stuff!

to be honest, i dont know and everyone told me to peel but secretly i’ll tell you i keep some in a baggie whole and put them on the side of my meals with skin and seeds

Never compromise, even in the face of excessive fiber.

bwahhahaha yay fiber!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57910.39
ETH 2452.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35