You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Best Steak Ever - Ribeye Caps

in #food6 years ago

Good morning! Thanks for the great comments. Yes, clearly I'm "jetlagged" or senile because I proof read the post twice before posting and yet, I have made 4 or 5 edits since posting. lol

Hormones, antibiotics, and GMO's are handled much differently here in Russia. I can't say for 100% certainty that these don't exist in the meat, but I'm told they are not supposed to be in there. There is a huge drop in the flavor of beef here compared to the U.S. That is definitely true, but it is getting better. Some cattle ranches have even been certified by U.S. and Australian Beef Councils and have some good quality (more expensive than in the U.S. though).

Haha. I went shooting in Kansas City before I returned here. The post is about Saturday the 24th. It was my last day before I came back. However, Russians are allowed to own guns. Shotguns and rifles only as I understand, but many Russians go hunting regularly especially in the regions (Russian version of the "sticks"). They have shooting ranges here in St. Petersburg where people can fire handguns, but I don't know anyone that has a handgun legally.

Go to a butcher shop or to Costco. They will have them and the quality will be pretty good. You just have to know what to ask for.

Sort:  

Yes, clearly I'm "jetlagged" or senile because I proof read the post twice before posting and yet, I have made 4 or 5 edits since posting. lol

I had to take a second look. I assure you, I am about as far from being a grammar nazi as one can get. I hadn't thought about it being taken that way, lol.

I meant in a previous post you had mentioned you don't like help when you are doing the cooking as you love it so much it doesn't feel like work to you. So when I saw you had people helping you (and erroneously thought this was right after you got back) I was making a joke you must really be tired to allow others to help you, lol.

That is still awesome on the firearms. For defense and hunting, shotguns/rifles are much better than handguns (imo). I will definitely check out some of the butcher shops around here. I have never gotten a Costco card. I have went there a few years back to help my mom (she has a membership) and it seemed mostly the same gmo/full of corn syrup items found in the stores, only in bulk. While not a purist (can't afford it yet) I try to minimize that as much as I can, convinced it is the cause of the rise in diabetes and obesity, among many other health issues.

Hope you have settled back in ok. I know once we disrupt our routines (especially as long as you did) it can seem a little off trying to get back into them. I am sure having your morning coffee with your wife is helping relax you back into it as you begin sharing your journey here with her more in depth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60569.85
ETH 2584.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69