You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Make Flat Enchiladas with Homemade Enchilada Sauce - Tex- Mex Goodness Recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Forget manana ... I'm back already. I made your recipe w/ a few differences. First I doubled the recipe. Then I added:
1 t. onion powder
1 T. New Mexico red chili powder (in addition to the regular chili powder)
1/2 t. cayenne
1/4 t. cinnamon (instead of "a pinch")
1/2 t. black pepper

I omitted:
the extra salt
the vinegar

THIS STUFF IS TERRIFIC!!! No kidding. I have bought my last can of enchilada sauce. ***** FIVE STARS.

Sort:  

Super glad that you liked it! I'm really happy to have found the recipe and given it a try. I'm just happy I have all the ingredients and it comes together quickly. I don't do stuff that takes a long time. We haven't had enchiladas this week. May have to add it to the schedule. ;) I usually omit the vinegar as well. I think it's to keep it from seizing up after it sits for a bit. It doesn't change the flavor at all.

Made your enchilada sauce again tonight. Then made enchiladas w/ shredded pot-roast and refried beans, topped with cheese, sour cream & salsa. OMG, OMG, OMG!!! Even the dogs were crazy for it.

I used the vinegar this time just for comparison. You're right, it doesn't alter the taste. We'll see what it does to the consistency. I used the sauce from the previous batch (I froze it for a while) to cook the roast. Mah-vel-ous!!! <3

yay! No more canned enchilada sauce.

When I run out sometimes, I just use tomato sauce and add powdered chili to it. It really is hard to get enchilada sauce wrong. (or maybe im just a magical cook. lol)

@metzli visitng from steemitmamas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.58
ETH 2760.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65