Gummy bear win

in #food7 years ago

IMG_1484.JPG

Today I got up early, I'm talking 5:30am because Matt climbed out of bed randomly and walked to the door (he heard a cat..?) as if he was going to sleep walk outside somewhere..
Much laughter ensued when I told him what my half asleep brain had assumed (he has never sleep walked anywhere before) and after a good belly laugh who wants to go to back to sleep right? Too much oxygen has been shot up to the brain!
After rummaging around in the pantry as you do when awake at 5:30am, I came across gelatine sachets. I've been wanting to make the gummy treats from the I Quit Sugar website for aaaaaagers!

I wanted a chocolate gummy though (I also didn't have any other ingredients for her recipes) So I kept googling and found this smorgus board of a gummy recipe stash.
As you can see I made the chocolate ones and holy cow they are good! So creamy and deliciously chewy. 98% of my diet may have consisted of gummies today but hey I'm sure nutrition is averaged out over a week not a day..!

I've adapted the recipe somewhat but if you click the link It'll take you to a page with 5 different flavoured gummy recipes and you will be so glad you did once you've made a batch of these little gems!

They're far from perfect for a first go but gosh I was proud of them and I could literally "Treat Myself" all day long!

Bon Appetit!

CHOCOLATE GUMMYS

Ingredients

3 tablespoons gelatin powder
1/3 cup cold water
270ml Coconut cream/milk
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon maple syrup
3 tablespoons raw cacao powder

Method

Dissolve and stir the gelatin powder into the cold water in a small bowl and leave for 5 minutes or so to ‘bloom’ – that’s when it goes all jelly-like, in a big blob.

Heat the rest of the ingredients and stir through so its mixed well until it’s really hot, almost boiling.

Then mix the two together until all the gelatin lumps are gone.

Pour or spoon into moulds, leave to cool a little and then set in the fridge.
If you don’t have any moulds, you could just pour the liquid into a tuppaware dish and then cut into squares once set. Heaps easier but not as pretty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63001.43
ETH 3365.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45