Discovering something hot

in #food7 years ago (edited)

It's been a little over six months since I first met my fellow coworker. He has such interesting hobby that I couldn't stop listening to him talking about it.. His enthusiastic descriptions of his "little babies" sucked me in.. I know you got the clue what am I talking about with first photo, but I hope I got you interested enough to read through the end.

I'm talking about his passion for growing chilli plants. But not just 1 kind, not even 10... But impressive 42 different kinds of it. From mild smooth shaped ones to barely legal kinds.

One day he told me, that he grew all 300 baby plants, in winter and spring, inside his tiny beedroom from seeds up. He got me motivated to try something new. Even though I don't know much about gardening I decided to give it a go. I got 4 baby plants from him and put them beside other vegetables in our garden. This years weather was just ment for them.. Hot and sunny. And from such little plants they grew and even started making some fruits.. I'm still waiting for them to turn to final colour and heat.

While they were slowly growing I browsed the web and discovered a lot about it. Some good and some bad informations. Long story short I just found out that chilli plants have also their own good and bad neighbours in the garden. Apparently I choose the bad ones this year.

I usually don't eat spicy food but I will still do my immaginary homework through the winter and prepare better for next year.. Just for the love of growing something different and special.

So my produce for now is still growing, but with cold days comming the days in the garden are getting to an end.

Presenting my green babies:

Chocolate habanero

Lemon drop

Bolivian rainbow

And the last one still without a name - have to find out☺

Thank you for reading. I'll keep you posted.. 🌶

Sort:  

Good job! I am not really a fan of spicy food but I bet they taste good since they are home grown :)

Thank you. I must addmit we didn't tried them jet. Today I even managed to harvest the first few.. September is just to rainy..

Nice plants! The purple ones look really interesting. Good luck with gardening.

Thanks. Bolivian rainbow is just beautiful to watch how it's changing colours while growing.

Looks great but I wouldn't try them :)

I am little sceptic to try them too.. They will be for my friends who are used to eat spicy food..😉

I really love people who are into special different kinds of hobbies. These people are usually so passionate about what they do that it inspires you to try it out as well! The names are also awesome like Chocolate habanero and Bolivian Rainbow!

Yeah. The names are great and I didn't immagined before how many different kinds of chillies there is.

The thing is to be passionate. Passionate about something, anything, even when it might sound a bit silly for others. Then you get an award. Congrats to your fellow :)

wow they are looking pretty good, any idea if i plant them at apartment in winter, or they need some sun ? any advises to grow them at home? not in garden

Hey.. I love all the questions you wrote. I'm planning to write next post about it. Do you already have any idea which chillies do you wan't to try growing inside? So I can be more specific..

im not sure i will go to near shop and see that seeds are there :) so i will give you details in 1-2 days:) i just want to be sure that seeds what i buy will survive in winter

I just looked a little and this website has some quick tips for you.. Source: http://www.seaspringseeds.co.uk/growing-information/chillies-and-peppers/overwintering-chillies

Wow....I am growing peppers for the first time. While I'm glad to say that the bell peppers are just starting to grow; however, my jalapenos have yet to put on any blooms. I presume it's just too warm here in Zone 9, so I'm optimistic.

Unlike you, I love spicy as long as it's not over-powering. As I looked at the initial photo, all I could think about was making a recipe of Sriracha sauce :+).

Your pictures are beautiful; and, your coworker is quite the gem for sharing.

And, kudos to you for sharing, as well!

Peace.

The peppers need a lot of sun.. We had a really hot summer and they were growing like crazy. But sometimes the sun was too hot and the peppers got burn marks on them and we had to harvest them sooner. About jalapenos.. I think they need warm but not to warm climate. And plenty of watering during the hot season. Apparently it's not recomended to put water on the plant but directly on soil. Thumbs up for your gardening. I wish you the best of luck.

Thanks very much for the tips. As temps cool down a bit, I'm hoping to see new blooms on the jalapenos. I will definitely do an update should this occur.
Peace.

You do not want to face the wrath of my bunghole!!

Omg, that's such a interesting hobby! The 'barely legal kind' made me laugh :D anyways, I hope they turn out good! They already look good, especially the purple ones.

Hehe. Just my plan.. I'll post more quality photos next time when i take my camera with me. So you could see what transformations the Bolivian rainbow is going through while growing.

this post too much hot and spicy ))

That's amazing plants of different color and size. Most important purple one looks like purple balloon.

The purple one is fascinating because the plant first make some flowers, then chillies become purple. With time,sun,water etc. they change colours to yellow, orange, red and all the varieties of colours in between..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67