Homestead evening with my Cub

in #food8 years ago


After the heat of the day, we like to get outside on our beautiful Oregon Coastal Range property.
Tonight I decided to get the Cub involved in some harvesting and foraging for our dinner.

I had noticed earlier that some Purple Peacock florettes were ready for harvest.

This is the first year we have grown this broccoli variety; the leaves are like kale, and it develops flowers like broccolini.

We also harvest the largest of the pattipan squash.

Cub clipped a variety of herbs. Garden fresh parsley, sage and chives went into the bowl.
He was such a help, and it continued into the kitchen.

We cooked this all up with onions, garlic and shitake mushrooms and served over buckwheat soba noodles.

I am so grateful that my parents taught me skills around cooking and nutrition, and it is a pleasure to pass them on to my cub. It is such an honor to be earth stewards, and to be graced with such potent land to grow our food on.

Food is our medicine!

Sort:  

Oregon... that's been a while. Looks like you guys are doing it right. Teach that next generation!! That's the future. Thanks as well for the comments and compliments. Keep it up!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.6 and reading ease of 82%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

I love Oregon, as i live in the gorge of Troutdale. Youve taught you Cub a great skill. Keep up the excellent work!

yay! thanks for reaching out

I upvote U

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57651.10
ETH 2377.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42