Dinner time with Beetroot Couscous salad

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2384.JPG

I had bought some pre-cooked beetroot the other day because it was cheap and apparently it's really good for your health. But then, how do you combine this vegetable (is it even a vegetable?) into a nice platter of food?

IMG_2383.JPG

So I hit the internet and entered a few keywords in a search engine ('beetroot' 'recipe') and sourced four recipes that appealed to me, plus had the advantage that I have all other needed ingredients in stock.

So today: couscous salad with beetroot ...

Sounds simple and that has a reason: it is really simple:

➡️ You need precooked beetroot which you slice into small dices (I used 2)

➡️ Couscous (my favourite lazy evening dinner base)

➡️ Half an onion and 1 clove of garlic, finely chopped

➡️ A handful of almonds

➡️ As desired: lemon juice, salt, pepper, olive oil and in my case a handful of sunflower seeds plus a tablespoon of linseed as well

Notice how lovely pinkish the onion has become:
IMG_2385.JPG

It's quite spicy/sharp, so you could also quickly 'bake' (what is the English word for 'aanfruiten'?) the garlic and onion, as well as quickly roast the almonds while you're at it.

As mentioned, I found four recipes and I still have 3 beetroots left, so another beetroot recipe will follow soon.

IMG_2386.JPG

#savemoney #spendless #healthycheapfood #beetroot #cheapfood #saving #minimalism #dinner #easypeasy #giveyourselfabreak

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62887.03
ETH 2682.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55