Pork Curry!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I've cooked something for the fam. It's not easy for me to cook anymore as I tire easily but on good days, I can push my limits and deliver. This wasn't one of those days. haha :p

So I've been craving for a real good curry as I'm a fan of all things curry. I thought of making a "how-to" post for my take on this dish but things did not turn out as I planned. The hubby and I went to the grocery to buy the ingredients but when I got home I was already too tired to do anything else so I slept. The next day when I woke up, my mom was already slicing and dicing and frying the pork so I couldn't have prepared the ingredients the way I wanted it done. But hey, that's fine -- the curry still turned out very delish 🍛 I have to tell you that my mom knows her stuff, where else would I get my cooking skills from, right?

IMG_0219.JPG
The hubby and I picked Vermont Curry for this recipe as we both love the Japanese curry. There wasn't any other seasoning used for this dish except for whatever's in this box. Pretty cool! We didn't have to add any salt or pepper into the pot 😊

IMG_0221.JPG
What I wanted to make was a kick ass Japanese curry rice. I already had it pictured in my mind, I'd fry the pork like a mean tonkatsu then cook the veggies with the instant curry blocks and smother the tonkatsu and the rice with it. For this particular dish though, mom sauteed some garlic and onions then fried the diced pork til they were golden brown. To that she added a some water and pressure cooked it for a few minutes to soften the meat then added the veggies and the curry blocks.

IMG_20180131_204305.jpg
Here's the finished product. As mentioned earlier, it still turned out great! The entire family had a hearty meal that night and my curry cravings were definitely satisfied. 😍

IMG_20180131_204641.jpg

🍛🍛🍛

steemachievers.png

steemitph.jpg

Sort:  

Jap curry is a bit salty, no need for salt like you said. I wish I can cook like this. Ahahaha! Good job, Donna.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55817.20
ETH 2966.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17