Winter is coming any day, so let's plant my vegetable garden!

in #food5 years ago

Please join me in the back yard! Let's check out these photos of my garden, as I plant a crop I'll harvest next June/July.

7.JPG

I got some excellent garlic at the nearby "Garlicfest", which was in August. Of the 3 varieties, I'm going to plant 2.

1.JPG

The "Russian Red" strain. I got some nice big bulbs for planting.

2.JPG

You can plant individual cloves and they'll grow into full bulbs.

3.JPG

I love the patterns on the sides of the bulbs. Reminds me of wood grains, or maybe chestnuts.

4.JPG

That's some Tibetan garlic. A bit smaller, but I really liked the taste, and apparently it's a nice one to grow.

5.JPG

Really pretty colour on the inside of that one!

I broke up 2 of each strain, so I'd have a little more genetic variation in my garden patch.

6.JPG

Put them into containers and brought them to the garden.

7.JPG

I decided to plant along the back fences. Garlic needs to go about 3 inches down. It doesn't need fertilizer or water, just put it in with the pointy part facing up.

8.JPG


Here's a little clip to show you how I bury each clove:

clip.gif


I leave a few inches between each, so the cloves I had ended up spreading out across most of the back fences.

9.JPG

We're expecting a hard winter again this year, so I put some mulch over the garlic bulbs. I'll put some more over the entire garden once the leaves finish falling.

Garlic is a superfood, nutritionally. It grows with very little cost or care. And garlic defends your garden from pests!

Happy autumn, everybody. Get your bulbs in! :)

DRutter

banner 2019.jpg

Sort:  

Mmmm those are some pretty, purple garlic. I bet they'll be tasty! May you have a bountiful harvest :)

When one door closes, a window opens! (Or something like that.)
All the best with the garden this coming spring. Only a few months until we can start to sprout seeds indoors!

That's a nice pic! You can tell it's getting chilly outside. Let's enjoy those last few beautiful days of fall, they can disappear so fast...buuut let's enjoy from the window cuz it's nice and cozy inside :) It's nice to know there's something in the ground even when it's not gardening season. Can't wait to try them! Mmm local organic goodness...

Hope the garden produces well for you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.53
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71