🥓🥓 HONEY AND MAPLE CANDIED BACON!!! 🥓🥓

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Did someone say bacon?!

Boy oh boy, do I have something for you today! I was trying to find a creative way to use the bacon in the fridge, and I remembered when Epicmealtime was big on Youtube and how they candied bacon by putting brown sugar on top. Sounds good, but I wanted something more. Other recipes I have seen was maple and brown sugar. Which also sounds fantastic, but I wanted something to make the recipe more my own. I found some honey by the maple syrup in the cabinet, so guess what... I went with honey, maple syrup, brown sugar, and crushed red pepper! These were liked by most importantly @alovelymess, as well as the rest of the fam. We had some killer BLT's!


First, preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Then I lined a cooking sheet with aluminum foil to help with clean up, and stuck a rack on top of the pan.

IMG_20170726_115231.jpg

Next, you guessed it...Bacon! Thick cut works best for this.

There's no real guide here, but I mixed up 1/8 cup honey, and 1/8th cup maple syrup. However much you decide, just do a 1 to 1 ratio.

After that, I sprinkled brown sugar over them. I also added black pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes to some because I love sweet and spicy flavors!

Put them in for 15 minutes, then flip them and do the same honey/syrup mixture with brown sugar. Put back in the oven for another 10-15 minutes, it depends on how crispy you like it.

IMG_20170726_122644.jpg

If you can't wait for it to cool off, dig on in!

IMG_20170726_125843.jpg

I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

Some people will get rich off steemit, I'll just get fat..

Annnd you get an upvote. Lol! Thanks for the hilarious comment!

Aww.. thanks! I'm new and this is my first upvote :)

Is the drool showing? I'm a bacon lover from way back! Looks delicious!
You got my upvote!

I won't tell anyone if it is! Thanks so much!

Hi I am a HUMAN BEING and NOT a Bot! (just thought you should know) looks delicious!!! Great info. thanks for posting - upvoted & following!

Thanks so much human!! :D

Thanks for this post. Will have to try this on Sunday breakfast.

Let us know how it turns out!

Okay, this is a good post with very good photos. I love bacon-but maple on bacon ruins the the whole damn thing! :) I know, opinions differ. Gag. :)

Haha! I understand, it isn't for everyone! Thanks for the comment!

I'm just not a sweets guy, but I love bacon and spice. How about brushing bacon fat on the bacon with the red & black pepper, now were talking.

It came out looking great.

That also sounds great!! May give that a try.

Thank you!

I will be doing this.

Let's us know how it goes! :)

Oh boy. You are making me droll. :)

Thanks for this post. Will have to try this on Sunday breakfast.

@georgetan93 mission accomplished!

@hasaan let us know how you like it!

More than accomplished there my friend @drobinson!

Seriously man - the power of this post is such that I as a genuine veggie of around 20 years have been diverted. Please Upvote and follow me but also consider my idea for you: a quick post about the irresistible power of the smell of bacon....Steem on! :)

Woah, that's intense! Thanks so much! :D

So um........WOW! Candied bacon dude, for reals??? Haha, it sounds like you're going to give me some serious foodspiration in the future. Yum!😋😋😋😋😋

So glad you liked it! This would go over well with your bros. 😉 Thanks @gringalicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38