A simple way to make pickles!

in #food7 years ago

Ever wondered how to make your own pickles, but don't want to mess with cutting herbs, onions, etc? This is for you! My wife and I were out shopping and came across some mix that can be used to make your own pickles. Because our family garden is literally overflowing. We needed to do something with all of the cucumber, and fast. We grabbed a couple of packs, a gallon of vinegar, and headed home to get started.

Crazy, huh?

First, we washed them and sliced them into spears. There was SO. MUCH.

I went up into the attic (by the way, Tennessee heat and attics? Don't mix. At all.) to get the mason jars. After washing them, we put the oven on 225 and put them in to sterilize them. After that, we mixed up the brine. We got two different pickle types, Bread & Butter, and Kosher Dill. For Bread and Butter we mixed 6 and 3/4 cups of vinegar with the packet of powder, and 7 cups of sugar. For Dill, 3 1/3 cup vinegar, 7 1/3 cups water, and pickle powder. After it came to a boil we removed it from heat. Notice we're also heating the lids. This sterilizes them and helps them seal.

Fun fact about drobinson, I do not like pickles. Or smelling them.

Next @alovelymess and I started stuffing jars with cucumbers!

After this was done, we filled them to the top with the brine. On two of the jars I added some of our homegrown Jalapenos and crushed red pepper for some spice.

After all was said and done, we @alovelymess now has 14 and a half jars of pickles to eat! We placed them upside down to help create a good seal.

I have a feeling i'm going to try them, so I will report back soon!

I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

That's awesome! Seems like you had fun making them together :)
I think that's a great idea to make it with someone else - maybe I'm gonna make my own pickles soon too!

It was alot of fun!
Sounds great, make a post of it!

Such a great post! I'm trying this! Thanks for sharing ;)

Thanks so much! Do it!

Yum, I love pickles!

I on the other hand...do not. Haha!

I really enjoyed your post! I always wanted eat veggies from a home grown garden and pickle or can the excess. Cheers

It is a great thing to do!

My house is full of cucumbers and I do not know what to do with them.
Thank for your sharing

You're very welcome! Thanks!

Haha, I just wanna know who had to clean up????? Great post guys! 😂😂

The dishwasher! :D
I hear they're going to be huge. Thanks, @gringalicious!

This post has received a 4.01 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @drobinson.

Upvoted & RESTEEMED :]

Thanks so much!

Congratulations @drobinson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

We had so much fun making them!! Thanks for the memores! And as always, wonderful post my love!😘😍♥

It was alot of fun! Next time I will need a clip for my nose. Thank you dear!

Hahaha!! Anything for you!♥😍😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44