My 27th Birthday Cake

in #food7 years ago

When I tuned 27 years old I decided to make a cake that honoured my favourite puzzle - the 3X3 Rubik's Cube.

This cake has 48 large eggs in it and required 9 packets of fondant icing. To created the rich colours needed for 'the cube' i had to literally paint the fondant icing with various food dyes. From memory I used 12 bottles of black food dye. There was enough cake for nearly 200 people!

This monster sized cake was completely gluten and dairy free and absolutely delicious!

I made it by backing multiple cakes in a square tin (very well greased). I then froze all the square cakes to make them easier to cut. But cutting each one in half and then placing the two halves together with the perfectly smooth faces pointing outwards I was able to stack the cakes into layers that formed a cube. Instant-frosting from a can was used to hold all the layers together.

The icing was rolled out with a rolling pin then painted with the various colour of food dye. The different colours (red/yellow/green/blue/orange) were painted onto the fondant squares and those squares were then stuck onto the main cake and the black fondant foundation using frosting.

Here are the pictures!

Cake with final decorations....jpg
The cake with the final decorations

Rubik's Cube Cake - View 5.jpg
View 1

Rubik's Cube Cake - View 4.jpg
View 2

Rubik's Cube Cake - View 3.jpg
View 3

Rubik's Cube Cake - View 2.jpg
View 4

Rubik's Cube Cake - View 1.jpg
View 5

One Third Eaten Cube Cake.jpg
When one third of the cake had been eaten this is what it looked like!

Getting there.jpg
The cake - getting there

Finished cube cake - view 5.jpg
The finished Cube-cake

Cake in a crate - look at it compared to Kate Mons.jpg
The cake in the plastic crate shows how big it was compared to my housemate

By far the coolest birthday cake I ve ever had Baz.jpg
This was by far the coolest birthday cake I have ever had

2 more sides to go And no, the cake is not sagging.jpg
2 more sides to go - no the cake is not sagging.

Almost finished cube cake.jpg
Almost finished

Sort:  

Here you go mate, here was the link - https://freebitco.in/?r=194521. If you need any help, please get in touch :)

This is a masterpiece.

Happy Birthday! That cake is very cool!

We have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out this link for the instructions on how to join: https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-update-23-08-17-and-a-brief-summary-of-my-adventures-in-europe

That cake is AWESOME! I wish I was a baker. How long did it take you to make?

I baked the layers progressively over a week and then spent half a day assembling everything. I possibly could have made it faster but I was baking one layer each night after work. It was totally worth it.

Awesome Cake mate, shame about your poker skills :)

Here you go mate, here was the link - https://freebitco.in/?r=194521. If you need any help, please get in touch :)

thanks - but I believe I am both superior in cake making and poker

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61498.89
ETH 2962.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49