What I Just Ate? Help Me Identify All The Foods From This Delicious Ethiopian Plate

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_9678.JPG


If you know where to search, for 7 pounds you can get one of these Ethiopian plates, right in the middle of London. I spotted this Ethiopian food cart first time I was here with work, 2 months ago, and I was instantly mesmerized. It's all vegan, gluten free and sugar free. And it's incredibly tasty and diverse.

The only drawback is I don't really know what I eat. I try to ask every time, but I can't seem to remember. It's not really a drawback, as the plate is very fulfilling - it serves as my main meal of the day when I'm here - and the generated "waste" is not even mildly dangerous, something I can't say for other exotic type of foods I tried before. Incidentally, that's also one of my metrics I use to classify foods as healthy or toxic: if the generated waste is killing the flies flying around, then it's not good.

So, here's what I know so far:

  • green lentil, top right
  • olives (obviously)
  • chickpeas (I asked for some extra)

... and that's that. The combined brown and white-ish pancake (the roll-ups on the side) is just looking like a pancake, but it tastes differently. The green sauce on right is really hot, so I presume there's some wasabi involved, the orange one on the right is mildly sweet, but I have no ideas what is made of. Oh, and the little green thing you can see in the middle, under the doughnut (which I think it's not really a doughnut) it's okra, something advertised like some sort of a super-food by the lady serving at the cart.

So, any thoughts? What I just ate?


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

Ethiopian, the rolls are called "injera". This is the traditional bread. And the orange vegetable mix might be "wot". We used to go to an ethiopian restaurant during the fasting time, as it's cuisine it's based on the oldest branches of Christian fasting

Now I'm hungry again :)))) No idea what else was in your plate, but looks yummy!

Not spectacular in taste, but good and incredibly fulfilling :)

Wow looks massive! Are you sure the green thing has wasabi?
Does the middle fried dumpling have any filling? Looks like a puff of sort!
My guess indian samosa of sort?

Never ate an indian samosa so can't tell, but it didn't have any filling. Tasted almost like bread.

Yummy! It looks tasty!

Wow, this looks heavenly! I feel like even eating from the plate already 😋 😀

Chickpeas and olives as someone else mentioned, maybe swiss rolls too? (Those things look like swiss rolls!)

I don't know about swiss-rolls either, but they were like pancakes, only tasting differently, bread-ish.

There clearly is corn. :)

I don't think it's corn, it tasted differently, maybe sorghum?

I think it's modified, there's a different taste.

I recognised the olives and chickenpeas but would not be able to identify anymore than that haha. It looks delicious though, thanks for the share :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81