You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Carnivore Costs: What it Takes to Be a Carnivore in Acapulco

in #food6 years ago

Huh, fascinating. So that cost breakdown was way higher than I thought, dangit. $21/DAY to feed 2 people? And you have to eat that much? Dude, if it's cheap for YOU guys, cool, seems like it is for you two.

But maaaan, I personally can't sustain a budget like that here, and thankfully I don't have to. I priced out farms and GRASS-FED clean beef in bulk here in Arizona (and I've priced it on the east coast as well). For the amount you spend to feed you and John in 30 days, I can spend on buying a third or quarter of an entire cow that will feed Larken, my son, and I... FOR A YEAR!!!! And not grocery store or walmart cow. REAL COW. $600 will buy me a year's worth of clean meat for my entire family. At many U.S. FARMS.

Now, if one wants, one can go into U.S. GROCERY stores, which is retarded because grocery stores rip you off on meat pricing... well THEN grass-fed beef is like 6 to 10 bucks PER POUND and yeah your Mexico prices there are way better than what we have to pay in a grocery store LOL. But that's true most places. Grocery store chains are a huge rip off.

However, if you want to know how sustainably you can really live in the U.S., it matters that you don't check grocery stores only, on that front anyway.

As far as how much you're all eating, WHEW! Girl, I don't have the time for that much eating myself and I love food... honestly you'll figure out yourself what works for you guys LOL but just my thought there was DAMN I eat less as I've gotten healthier. lol

When it's clean meat no one I have yet come across doing carnivore has seemed to need to eat that much---- again if it's clean. But I'm sure there's tons having your same experience, you can't be the only one. It's night and day for me, clean meat from unclean. Unclean meat will leave me always ravenous not long later typically. Clean meat hasn't seemed to. When I eat actually verifiably clean meat (no pork of course if we're talking clean lol)... like basically keep it mostly to clean red meat, just grass-fed beef (NOT U.S. Walmart or any regular store meat), I don't need to eat that much. Even in ketosis I don't have to eat that much at all.

That fact that you're this fucking hungry sorta flies in the face of what I expected so.... that's hella interesting. My nerdiness is loving following this.

Sort:  
Loading...