Healthy Eating on a College Budget - Poached Eggs

in #food6 years ago (edited)

As a college student with limited time and income, I've found it necessary to create quick and inexpensive meals for myself. This is my own modified version of Eggs Benedict. I managed to spend under $2 creating this sub 500 calorie, 15 minute breakfast. For a price that can compete with McDonald's, it's surprisingly very healthy... and delicious!

IMG_6680 copy.jpg

Instructions:

This morning I woke up and watched a 3 minute video on youtube from the Food Network on how to poach eggs. The steps were very simple:

  1. Pour water into a widespread pan and fill up to 1.5 inches.
  2. Turn your burner on medium heat and slowly set the eggs into the simmering water; approx. 90 degrees fahrenheit.
  3. Cook until preference.

I used hollandaise sauce to top it, in which I got from my local grocery store. The packet's instructions read as:

  1. Melt 1 tbs of butter in a small pot.
  2. Add 1 cup of milk.
  3. Heat till a boil and slowly reduce heat while mixing until sauce thickens.

Ingredients and Pricing:

  • 3 eggs - 31 cents
  • 1/2 hollandaise packet - 74 cents
  • 4 pieces of turkey bacon - 54 cents
  • 1.5 pieces of toast - 18 cents

Total: $1.77

Nutritional Facts:

26.5 Grams of Fat
30 Grams of Carbs
29 Grams of Protien
Total of 475 calories, thats less than a single sausage biscuit at McDonalds!

Sort:  

@dotosteem great post! I graduated college, but still live on a budget! Great looking breakfast.

Looks great, thank you for adding the prices and nutritional facts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99