My first Buddha Bowl! HOW TO AND RECIPE (ENG)

in #food6 years ago (edited)
Today was the first time that I tried making a Buddha bowl, I've always wanted to make one but since I live in a little apartment and the space in my fridge is reduced, it was a bit complicated to stock all the ingredients. However, I finally decided to give it a try so yesterday I bought a bunch of vegetables cause today it was going to be Buddha bowl day no matter what.

So maybe you don't know what a Buddha bowl is (even though they are trendy these days), you can put it like this, let's say that Buddha bowls are amazing salads with a lot of nutrients and protein making of them a great option to eat healthy; the fun part about this is that you can compose your Buddha bowl as you wish but you need to follow more or less of a guide to be sure to include all the nutrients that a balanced meal needs. Once I found a nice (and easy) guide to make them so let me share it with you.

To compose a Buddha you need:

  • A base: usually like lettuce, kale, spinach...
  • Veggies: carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, zucchini...
  • Protein: chicken, salmon, eggs, tofu...
  • Complex Carbs: corn, quinoa, beans...
  • Something crunchy: nuts, red pepper (or any other color if you like), seeds...
  • Something sweet (for me this part is optional): almost any fruit basically like apples, mangoes, berries...
  • Flourish: avocado, hummus, cilantro or any healthy sauce.

There are a lot more ingredients that you can add to this "guide" but with all this I just want to show you that you can make it work for you, as you can see there are at least 30 possible combinations you can use to make your own Buddha bowl, actually I'm planning on doing another one soon (maybe tomorrow) since I already have all the vegetables. If I do that I'll show you of course. Ok! So right now let me show you my own creation:

20180708_145159.jpg

RECIPE

So at first I was struggling because I didn't have a big bowl so I had to do some magic to make this work, I'm proud of my work actually I think it looks pretty good. Inside you can find:

  • Arugula salad as a base
  • A bunch of carrots (thin strips)
  • A bunch of white cabbage (also in thin strips to add something crunchy)
  • 2 big slices of avocado diced finely
  • Sliced cucumber (at least 10 medallions)
  • A hard-boil egg
  • A pinch of salt
  • A pinch of pepper
  • A table spoon of your favorite healthy sauce (optional)

The best thing about this recipe is that once you had cut all your vegetables and chose all your extra ingredients, you just need to throw them all in a bowl (literally). As you might have noticed I didn't add complex carbs or a fruit this time cause I didn't feel like it but I completed my bowl with a table spoon of this organic honey mustard sauce, besides it adds a bit more of flavor.

20180708_145249.jpg

IMG_20180708_143651_604.jpg

So what do you think? if you make your own Buddha bowls too, tell me what do you like to include in them. If not, tell me if you would like to taste them sometime. I'm sure I will do another one very very soon so stay tuned for more!

I hope you liked this post I wish you all a nice Sunday, thanks for visiting!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85