You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jackfruit! - One of These Wonderful Tasting Fruits Could Serve a Banquet

in #food8 years ago

This is one of the fruits we have on our half acre in Panama, I think. They call it chama and no one up there seems to like it. I think it's jackfruit, rather than breadfruit but I'll have to look into it.

My wife really does not like the smell.

Definitely interesting fruit, and I can't say that I have tried it.

Sort:  

It'd be interesting to find out what you have. Some people complain about the smell when they're not cut. I guess that makes them less attractive to predators, though I have seen pictures of where a bird has pecked a large hole in them. When you cut them open, they smell good. If you watched the video, the flies liked the smell too. It was crazy how quickly they started buzzing around.
I've heard breadfruit is awesome, but it's still on my list. Durian is similar on the outside too. I have one, but haven't cut into it yet.
Love your interaction on these articles. Thanks!!

Yeah, I'll definitely get a photo next time or have a family member get me a photo. I'm interested to research it and find out.

Where our house is (or, really, the house we had built for her mom) on about 1/2 acre we have just about every tropical fruit one could (or, at least, I could) think of and that, or something much like that, is definitely one of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65