When They Come For Your Butter

in #food7 years ago

When you think of Idaho you probably associate it with potatoes, and when you think of Florida you probably think of citrus, well when you think of Wisconsin - you think of cheese and dairy.

Wisconsin is a leading dairy producer and it became the leading dairy nation back in 1912. At the moment, they've got about 14 different butter plants currently operating in the state. The state produces about 3 billion lbs of cheese every year, and there are over 9,000 dairy farms in the area.

The cheese market alone contributes over $40 billion annually to the state's economy. And between 2005 to 2015, the state saw growth of about 26.6 percent in just the area of cheese production.

In 2015, Wisconsin produced over 29 billion pounds of milk, with the dairy industry there growing about 65 percent in the last 5 years alone. The state also has one of the strictest guidelines when it comes to getting butter products approved.

In recent years, more consumers have been opting for grass-fed butter over margarine and other traditional butter options.

Americans can't seem to get enough of one particular brand of grass-fed butter and that's Kerrygold butter. It is currently sold in hundreds of stores across the US, they saw roughly 30 percent growth in 2015, and they've created dozens of jobs in the process. Kerrygold butter has seen billions of dollars in sales, but the process to get the product to market hasn't been easy as many areas have profoundly strict regulations in place surrounding dairy products.

And the big dairy corps with majority share of the market in Wisconsin currently, will be happy to hear about the decision of Wisconsin authorities to recently crack down on the growing popularity of grass-fed butter in the state.

Citing a law that was passed back in 1970, Wisconsin authorities are requiring that butter competition undergo a thorough screening process, including being analyzed by a panel of experts and meeting dozens of quality points.

Kerrygold is one of my personal favorites, even though I have tried other brands also. As you can see from the photographs in this post. I just like the color, taste, and price, of the Kerrygold grass-fed product and use the unsalted for both coffee and cooking.

And now that Wisconsin is cracking down on the brand, the grass-fed butter is being pulled from the shelves and those who have come to love the product in the state there are being forced to drive to neighboring states in order to obtain it. I have also had similar experiences when trying to obtain this product as well, so when I do get the chance to buy some I am always sure to stock up if I can.

Some shop owners are being threatened with fines and even up to 6 months jail time for selling the unapproved butter.

It is reported that at the moment Kerrygold is currently in the process of working with state authorities in order to remedy the issue and get their product back into the hands of consumers.

Kerrygold will now be required to alter their entire process of their quality assurance methods in order to satisfy the state that the butter is safe.

Although the butter hadn't had the official stamp of collective approval, consumers (like myself) were still willing to take the gamble with their safety, having already spent millions of dollars supporting the brand and consuming the product apparently without any issue.

Pics:
my own /doitvoluntarily
imgflip.com

Sources:
http://www.wmmb.com/assets/images/pdf/WisconsinDairyData.pdf
https://fee.org/articles/this-state-is-now-protecting-you-from-kerrygold-butter/
http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/kerrygold-sales-hit-record-levels-in-key-us-market/
http://www.irishtimes.com/business/agribusiness-and-food/record-sales-of-kerrygold-boost-irish-dairy-board-s-turnover-1.1763733
http://www.irishcentral.com/culture/food-drink/americans-cant-get-enough-of-kerrygold-butter-sales-hit-record-high

Sort:  

This is crazy, hands off the butter! I must ask, you said you used the unsalted in your coffee? I have never heard of this before. How does it work, just put a slice in?

yes instead of using milk/cream that i used to use which was full of growth hormones and other additives, i just opt for grass-fed butter now after hearing about the bulletproof coffee stuff! :)
https://blog.bulletproof.com/how-to-make-your-coffee-bulletproof-and-your-morning-too/
put a slice in and shake it up, because i put my coffee in my protein shake bottle lol

That is a fantastic article. I wondered about it making the coffee all fatty but of course the blending part would solve that.

No surprises what I am going to try tomorrow breakfast time!

i also add some coconut oil to mine too! i don't have my coffee any other way now i love it:)

It's quite exciting. I am really looking forward to trying this. I am a huge fan of butter and coconut oil. I really don't like all these processed spreads and artificial products that pervade the market. Thank you very much for showing me something new :-)

It's anything the government can do to kill the free market. Land of the fee, and home of the slave.

I can get the salted variety the cheapest, so I clarify it to get out the salt. I like it better clarified anyway. All you have to do is put the butter in a double boiler, and set it on the lowest heat setting, then just leave it alone for 2 hours. Mmm mmm, coffee goodness.

i ❤️ Butter!! Butter ist gut für die Augen, hat meine Oma immer gesagt.

Wow, butter in my coffee!

Oh gezz, I think I buy that Irish grass fed butter, better stock up like you suggested...

Wow this is outrageous. I have bought this butter at my local discount grocer and was impressed with the quality and the value in Kerrygold. There is a point where regulation is too much, maybe 100 years ago food producers tended to make dangerous products, but now it is regulation turning food into "frankenfood" full of preservatives and other junk, destroying quality and health!

regulations work against the people, because they are used to protect and safeguard the established crony market/corp cartels in place. It certainly would be nice if they could allow us to make decisions about what we put into our own bodies,.. after all, isn't it our body... our choice?

I have to admit, I've never splurged for kerrygold. But every now and then at my local grocery outlet, they will have grass fed dairy products at a very reduced price and those are always so much better in over all quality, texture and taste. I'd like to try kerrygold.

I saw this in my newsfeeds y-day also and just shook my head.

#BigGov

has gots to go.

I had this before. not easy to find in Singapore but I bought it once when I saw it because I wanted t make the butter coffee I read about with this butter.

Ridiculous! This would've surprised me a fee years ago but now it's not as much of a shock. My wife and try to buy only grassfed dairy, it makes a huge difference in cognitive abilities and overall health. Time to buy it by the case and make room in the freezer. Thanks for keeping us informed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99