You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lab-Grown Chicken Nuggets Soon To Be Served In High-End Restaurants

in #food5 years ago

I’m not sure if you’ve seen industrial meat farming, but it isn’t sanitary and can border on cruelty. Some use bleach to wash the meat and pump them full of antibiotics. I don’t care if industrial cattle ranchers go out of business. It’s probably about time. I do think that if ranchers still want to farm cattle using the traditional methods that’s fine , but they don’t deserve protection.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Absolutely, industrial meat farming is pretty disgusting and I've seen it all, no argument about that. Traditional methods is what I'm getting at, I should have clarified. I just worry when these kind of new food technologies come around, as the USDA has a tendency to favor them, even against the warnings of their own scientists . Always about money.

If society were more willing to promote traditional farming and the purchase of local foods, we'd be in a better position but that's become harder and harder to do thanks to ridiculous regulations. Also, prices are higher for traditionally farmed meat, and thanks to our flawed system, people rely on industrially farmed foods to survive. I suppose what's seen as progress is not always a good thing, nor reversible. I for one simply don't want to eat any kind of meat grown in a lab, however, I'm not in favor of the industrial methods either.

I am trying to find more info about the potential problems with lab-grown meat but there's not enough info out there yet as it's a rather new and protected process.

This other article published yesterday by @doitvoluntarily is good, too - in regards to failure of foresight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60627.10
ETH 2662.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44