My Comfort Foods : Giniling

in #food6 years ago (edited)

For lunch today I decided to make one of my favourite Filipino comfort foods.

Giniling is a traditional home style stew made of ground pork, potatoes, some vegetables and tomato sauce.

This dish takes me back to my childhood days. After playing basketball for hours on a make shift basketball court at the corner of the street, I’d come home before dark to the smell of my mother cooking giniling. This easy dish is quite savory and comes with a hint of sweetness to satisfy a hungry kid(that would be me, I still feel like a kid) with an appetite.

giniling_be.jpg

Best served with some steamed rice and boiled or fried eggs. Although it already tastes good right after you cook it, it tastes even better a day or two after.
Enjoy!

giniling_tble_2.jpg

GINILING

INGREDIENTS
2 tablespoons canola oil
1 table spoon garlic, minced
1 red onion, diced
2 roma tomatoes, diced
750g ground pork or lean ground beef as I used
3 medium potatoes, diced
2 medium carrots, diced
1/2 cup canned corn kernels
1/2 cup green peas
1/2 cup canned chickpeas (optional)
1/2 cup crushed tomatos
Salt and pepper to taste

Procedure:
Heat up the oil up in a sauce pan and sweat the onions and garlic. Add tomatoes and the ground meat and saute until browned while stirring and breaking up the meat. Add the potatoes and carrots and cook another 5 mins. Add the rest of the ingredients and crushed tomatoes. Simmer for another 10 mins or until potatoes and carrots are tender. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

giniling_tble.jpg

Hope you enjoy it!

diginat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43