The Omelette LifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food4 years ago (edited)

Om1.jpg

Are you living off omelettes at the moment? Calm down, nothing wrong. You are not alone. I'm living off omelettes too not gonna lie. Who doesn't love a good omelette especially if it's the only thing you cook? I must say it is a perfect quarantine food. Don't complain, times are tough. You need something cheap, fast and easy. Something you can eat however you want. The good things is that there are so many ways you can cook an omelette. You can cook it with cheese, mushrooms, vegetables, chorizo, ham, etc. You can have your omelette with bread, rice, wrap or just as it is. Damn, even bread is a luxury these days. Anyway, have it your way.

The picture above is what they call the "Ugandan Rolex". I am not talking about the watch so nothing fancy here. It is basically just an omelette in a Chapati or wrap. So I made my own version of this popular Ugandan street food. The whole thing is usually wrapped in a newspaper. I don't have a newspaper at the moment to give it more a street food look, so I just wrapped it in a paper. I am not sure if it is clean, but yeah, whatever. Street food is supposed to be cheap, dirty and delicious.

Om2.jpg

It is very easy to make, you just do it the Ugandan way. You just combine 2 eggs, cabbage strips, tomatoes, and onions in a mug. Yes, a mug, to make it easier to mix. Then you fry it on a nonstick pan with a bit of oil. Flip it until it's brown enough for you. Put the Chapati on top to heat it a bit then roll. That's it actually! It's perfect for breaky or brunch. Gotta eat your Ugandan Rolex while it's hot!

Speaking of breakfast, I know we all love to have breakfast. They say it's the most important meal of the day. Some say that it is just a Kelloggs propaganda to make you buy their products, I don't know. But for me, breakfast has become overrated. I'm okay with coffee and that's it. Breakfast too has become a luxury these days. Sigh.

Anyway, you might as well save your omelette for lunch or dinner. I mean come on, you can break the rules. No one's gonna judge you, you are in self-isolation. You don't need to eat a lot these days especially if you are not moving around. This quarantine, I recommend just eating 2x or 1x (if you can) a day. I think it is healthier and detoxifying this way. You are training yourself to become a Zombie survivor. Or when the time comes you have to protest outside for not getting any relief goods from the government, your body should show that you are living an omelette life? So this quarantine, eat less, live more.

Here's some omelette humor for you all.

https://www.facebook.com/bbccomedy/videos/1146121045735501/

I hope you are having an omelette too for easter. Happy easter!

I would love to hear about your omelette life!

Sort:  

That Ugandan Rolex sounds interesting ( and I'm not into fancy watches although I'm considering to get myself a Fitbit in the not too distant future ).

I am lucky to have more options than just omelettes but I'm eating slightly more eggs these days ( due to Easter ).

I see you still haven't migrated to Hive but will wait patiently :>)

A hug from The Netherlands,

Vincent

It is very easy you should try it!

Actually in quarantine my food intake has been increased as my wife is a superb cook. :) stay blessed @diabolika

Great that you have someone cooking good for you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62497.97
ETH 3335.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47