Regrow Food from Kitchen Scraps

in #food6 years ago (edited)

2018_0215_200340_001.JPG

I'm not yet a plant wizard but I try to recycle some food scraps for starters. Food is getting expensive these days but I found a way (online) to magically regrow some plants from kitchen scraps. You can actually make use of those organic waste by making a compost or starting your own garden. You don't need a huge backyard as some of these can actually grow indoors close to your window. Just make sure your plants still get the necessary water and sunlight.

You can minimize your grocery expenses by having your own organic vegetable garden and regular food supply at no cost. You just need some time and patience.

So here are some of grandma's food hacks.

Garlic

2018_0215_201504_015.JPG

I feel sorry for you if you don't like garlic. Don't worry, I'm sure garlic doesn't like you too. Whatever you say, garlic is so important that I can't really cook without it. Regrowing it is pretty easy actually. You just need a single garlic clove and you can regrow your entire garlic head from it.

2018_0215_201705_016.JPG

You can put the cloves in a small jar (save those sandwich spread jars for me) and add some water. Make sure the root faces downward. After about two weeks, new shoots will soon begin to form. Make sure to change the water regularly. Later, you can transplant these into pots.

2018_0215_203842_030.JPG

Onion Leeks

2018_0215_201000_008.JPG

I really love this because it is so easy to regrow. Leeks look like overgrown green onions but they have a milder flavor. The green stalk is usually used for stocks and creamy soups. Save the white base and you can start regrowing it indoors. Just soak in water and watch it grow back.

2018_0215_201102_011.JPG

Just wait for a couple of days and you'll start seeing new green stalks. It's amazingly fast.

2018_0215_201140_013.JPG

It can also be transplanted into the garden. It is pretty cool that you can have an unlimited supply of onion leeks. After harvest, you can keep it in the refrigerator for up to two weeks. It can also be dried for storage.

Basil

2018_0215_202943_022.JPG

Who doesn't love basil? I really love it for my pathetic pesto pasta recipe. For the single ones out there, basil is all you need.

It is pretty simple, you just need a four-inch stem and put it in a small, clear glass. Make sure to put enough water to cover the stem but leave some leaves above the water.

2018_0215_203056_024.JPG

Just make sure the area is bright and avoid direct sunlight. After 2 weeks, you'll see some roots.

2018_0215_203142_026.JPG

You can start transplanting the roots into the soil. I'm going to write about transplanting my basil babies into the garden next time.

These are just some of my examples. There are many other vegetables you can regrow like celery, lettuce, lemongrass, mint, and onions.

I started this little project because it is always warm and sunny here. That's also why we have different kinds of vegetables. I think anyone can turn this regrowing from kitchen scraps a passion too. You just need to put a little love and a bit of patience in what you do.

Sort:  

Great effort! I am trying to grow my own buy regrowing an saving bits, so this is helpful thanks.
I need a composter or wormery I feel so bad wasting food. I must make this my mission for next month (two months touch broke at mo). I just don't want to buy on of the horrid plastic things an was planning on making my own but am stuck on materials currently! 💯🐒

Great! I know what you mean with materials, you can buy little by little.

I am also currently making my own compost, digging and all the hard work lol.

I trying not to use plastic and recycle where I can makes it very tricky haha getting there now. Let me know how the compost goes :) 💯🐒

Any vegetable that has a base can also be regrown such as Bok Choi, Napa cabbage, etc. You won't often get the same sort of veggie that you bought, often just some new leaves, but those are great and best of all they're free. I've seen second growth Napa cabbage in the Korean market before. After the harvest of the original cabbage, the root is left in the ground. A rosette of new leaves forms and the plant is then dug up, the roots removed and the rosette sold. Haven't tried it but it must be some sort of delicacy.

I've wondered about growing garlic in the tropics. It's always available, but garlic doesn't usually send out roots when the weather is warm. Up north I plant in the fall. It can freeze solid and still grow in the spring to be harvested in August, down south in June. Never tried to sprout it in water.

garlic doesn't usually send out roots when the weather is warm.

No wonder the roots are taking so long to come out...must be.

I want to regrow celery!
I might have to make some room by my window.
Onion leeks seem like a good idea too.

Onion leeks grow really fast! I might try celery too.

Wow. Amazing share. Reminded my childhood days when my dad used to cultivate garlic in our farm house. We got a lot of home garlic about 150 to 200 kg garlic from garlic plant which was enough for us year usage but also for our relatives. Keep sharing

Amazing! I'm still learning about cultivating garlic, hopefully, I could do the same! Thanks!

All the best for your cultivation mission. keep sharing @diabolika

Granny greenthumbs pathetic pesto pasta!Delish:D

Plant and tree planting helps to protect our environment from many environmental hazards. It also provides oxygen gas and reduces carbon dioxide. Perhaps the most enjoyable and easy to grow is the vegetables we eat in our daily meals. Home.
The house farm has many and varied benefits ... It provides the house with vegetables that do not contain chemicals or pesticides, and they are fresh at any time we want, in addition to its beautiful appearance in the garden or terrace, and the pleasure of planting and caring for it

Hi, I'm new to your blog, here in my country we usually do a lot of that, actually my sister knows a lot once we sow a lot of chives

That is cool!

Look at you and your green thumb!! These are some awesome (and simple) food tricks, Thanks! :)

So savvy! I am definitely going to try the leeks and garlic.

When my daughters were young, we had a decent vegetable garden. We'd grow cucumbers, tomatoes, green peppers, and other easy veggies. One year I also grew hot peppers and produced tons of homemade salsa!

Perhaps I need a new-old hobby... Thanks for the inspiration!

We'd grow cucumbers, tomatoes, green peppers, and other easy veggies. One year I also grew hot peppers and produced tons of homemade salsa!

Wow this is amazing! I know nothing about gardening. But I'm learning.

Thanks!

Wooow its amazing great work thanks for sharing It keep it up Iwish you all the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39