Dosa... Indian Food..YUMMY

in #food7 years ago

I have been making these flatbreads and eating them for 35 years. I use to be a strict chapati fan but now I am A dosa girl. All folks who are gluten free and vegan can enjoy these too!!
It is so easy to make the batter and you can just keep it in the refrigerator for 2 weeks and take out little by little what you want to use.
Soak split urad dal (any urad) with rice. I don't measure and measuring is not real important with the recipes I post. Generally i like a 2/3 urad and 1/3 basmati rice. Soak in plenty of water a few hours or overnight.
Then grind the mix in your ninja or vita mix or whatever it is you use so that it comes out looking like a thick pancake batter. you will put just enough water in there so that it moves freely in your grinder but not too much water cause we don't want it real thin. IMG_1634.JPG then let it sit out in a bowl on the counter for a few hours before you make your first Dosa. That's it as far as preparation goes and now you will cook them. I like to use a ceramic grill for cooking and I put it on about 275° you can make plain dosa or you can stuff them. Traditionally in India they stuff with spicy mashed potato. I like to stuff mine with bitter melon (known as Kerala) and cheese. I just spoon a ladle full onto the grill and smooth it around into a circle looking like a crepe. In the pictures you can see the plain one and the one that I'm stuffing. I slice and fry my kerela first until light brown. IMG_1647.JPGIMG_1650.JPG IMG_1656.JPG IMG_1658.JPG
When I stuff them I put the ingredients on half of it and then folded over so it's half moon and then you just cook it on each side. The plain one is so simple IMG_1663.JPGIMG_1661.JPGyou just cook the circle dosa on each side and then after I take it off the pan when it's nice and brown i roll it while it's still hot. I just roll it like a log and put it on the plate. The length of time you cook them is totally up to you. some people like them really soft and kind of white looking but please cook it longer if you prefer it brown like I do. It might take about five minutes on each side for the stuffed ones on 275° on a ceramic grill but maybe cook it at 350 or 400 degrees on other types of grills or flat pans. I cook mine till they are brown and a little crispy!!! You can dip them in a nice coriander or coconut chutney or just eat them plain or with your veggie or soups. ENJOY!!!!
Please let me know how it turns out if you try it. I love feedback!

Sort:  

Dosas!! You make it look so simple!

Wow! These dosa flatbreads look really lovely and delicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47