Beet Burgers. Vegan/Vegetarian

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1543.JPG

These are healthy and delicious and believe it or not found in India as well as other countries with variations on the recipe. I start by getting the beets! I am not the kind of cook that measures things and it's not necessary with the way I do things.

Two large beets
One medium wet squash (such as Indian loki...loki means squash, or yellow or zucchini squash)
Raw sunflower seeds ground to a powder (Approx one cup)
two fresh green chilies (optional... it gives it a kick! )
Coconut flour
Sago flour (optional)
Ground coriander
Salt

Just finely grind up your veggies and put them in a bowl. Use a grinder that processes so that you do not have to add any water to it such as an ultimate chopper or whatever you have to process your veggies.I grind the fresh green chilies along with the veggies. Add the powdered sunflower seeds, coriander, and salt to taste. At this point you should have a pretty wet mix but still has form to it. Now is when I add about 4 tablespoons of the tapioca flour which is also known as sago flour when purchased from the Indian store. This will solidify your mix a little bit better and finally you will be adding your coconut flour until your mix is pretty firm but still moist![IMG_1541.JPG] () now it is very workable to make nice patties that will hold together. If they seem to be a little loose then you need to add more coconut flour until they are firm but moist and holding together. The amount of coconut flour may be somewhere between half a cup and 3/4 of a cup but you will have to feel the texture yourself. Voilà! Now make your patties and put them on your grill or fry pan on medium low heat because you want them to cook nicely without the sugar from the beets turning them black too fast. I use a ceramic electric grill( you can get one at Walmart for around $25 ) which is perfect for even cooking on a low heat and I usually set it at around 200° It takes approximately 10 minutes on each side and you are done.
Dress it up or eat them plain ...however you like your burgers.
Please reply with any questions and let me know if you tried it and how you like it or if you love it!

Sort:  

It looks surprisingly good. I am not a vegetarian, and never will be but I do love trying different things.

Good for you! Yes you do not have to be vegetarian to eat vegetables and try new things that's for sure thank you for showing interest and any future about you might give me if you were interested in my content

Sounds delicious. I love beet burgers. There's a place where I live that makes an excellent one. I will save your recipe. Thank you.

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

I think it's the beets that really make a difference. Can't wait for more of your recipes. :>)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49