The peanut butter cup that does too much (but it is GOOD)

in #food5 years ago

20190614_162954[1], rotated.jpg

I never heard of the UNREAL candy company before today -- I was just looking to buy a small piece of candy to make change for a dollar to have change for bus fare. The dark chocolate peanut butter was on sale, and I like peanut butter cups in general. "36 percent less sugar" -- that didn't hurt either.

The Unreal cup is small and thin compared to the standard cup and disappeared in two bites. I photographed it after the first bite because it surprised me so much. I've had the dark version of the standard cup, and I've also eaten my share of better dark chocolates -- 80-90 percent chocolate, where there is practically no sweetness at all, just the taste of chocolate, which varies like wines vary. All kinds of notes and undertones ... fruity, berry, spices, coffee, smoky, creamy, even citrusy notes and tones.

What I did NOT expect was to get that level of chocolate on a peanut butter cup -- notes of cherries and cinnamon in a smooth, semi-sweet finish. That was a shock, as was the contrast of the creamy, salty peanut butter. The first bite was all, "Wait ... WHAT?"

I rejoice to say that the second bite confirmed the excellence of the first, and I then understood why it was so small; the flavors are so intense that they are satisfying in a small portion.

For those who would like to know: the cup is also vegan, and uses 65 percent fair trade ingredients!

So there it was -- the unexpected pleasure of the "Unreal" peanut butter cup. If you like peanut butter cups and dark chocolate, and you want to raise the level of your taste experience on both, I recommend that you get "Unreal" as soon as possible!

Sort:  

Sounds amazing! I love me a good peanut butter treat!

GET ONE -- you can order them from Amazon, or find them at BiRite or stores that carry a lot of vegan products!

Lol im in South Africa. A bit of a mission to order a chocolate bar from amazon 😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I like peanut butter but I don't know what a peanutbuttercup is.
Dark chocolate I like too so I think its a great bite.

If it ever shows up here I will buy it.
☘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80