Turkey Stuffed Bell Peppers w/Cauliflower Rice

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Turkey Stuffed Bell Peppers.png

4 bell peppers - I use a variety in color
1 lb ground turkey
1 chopped onion
3 minced garlic cloves
1 tsp dried basil leaves
1/4 tsp each for salt & pepper if desired
1 14 oz diced tomatoes
1 bag cauliflower rice (I get mine from the freezer section)
3/4 c shredded cheddar cheese or colby jack
1 jar of desired spaghetti sauce

I lightly coat my baking sheet with olive oil

375° Oven, Cut bell peppers in half lengthwise, leaving the stems in place to hold stuffing. Discard the seeds and veins. I put them on the baking dish and into the oven while I do the rest so they soften up a bit. I think its usually for 10-15 minutes, just check them and take them out if you feel they are getting too soft.

Fry turkey in a skillet until brown. Let the chopped onion and minced garlic cook with the turkey. I also add the basil, salt and pepper at this stage. When the turkey is nearly done, I add the cauliflower rice to thaw it out.

IMG_4599.jpg

In a medium to large bowl add the cooked turkey mixture, stir in the cheese, diced tomatoes and just enough spaghetti sauce to make it moist. You can see what mine looks like above.

IMG_4577.jpg

Spoon mixture into the bell pepper shells, top each one with a little spaghetti sauce. Bake for about 20 minutes.

I put any left over stuffing into a freezer bag and freeze it for next time.

IMG_4579.jpg

I enjoy mine cut up on my plate, minus the stems, and I hope you like them too!

If You Are Reading This, I Hope You Have An Awesome Day!

Photographs are owned by @debralee

My other social media's:
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap


https://steemit.com/@archdruid

Sort:  

Oh that looks delicious. I might have to give that one a try!

They are really good and low on carbs. :D

They look delicious, Deb. I’ll have a couple for lunch, Please. 😊

Typing this up made me want some for lunch too and we just had them the other day. lol

It looks amazing and delicious looking too!

Hello my Dear @debralee, would you please not use the tag #fruitsandveggiesmonday if your recipe is not 100% plant based? Thank you so much for understanding 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

I apologize, I did not realize it was vegan. I removed the tag. :)

Thank you for understanding my Dear. The tag is created primarily for #fruitsandveggiesmonday competition that you are welcome to join if you like. All the rules are written in the Monday post that I publish weekly 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

How delicious it looks, very appetizing

I can tell how good that was. Yummy.... comfort food!

Thanks, we do love them. And by we, I mean me & my kids. My Husband won't touch them. lol

I would eat a lot of them in his place... lol

Nice I had some stuffed bell peppers that I grew myself a while back. I'm hoping the next cycle grows big enough so I can have it again :)

I love stuffed bell peppers and out of the garden is even better! :D

I really like that cauliflower rice!!

You're making me hungry, and it's time for bed ( :
(This comment is about as old as I don't know what-maybe because it IS time for bed.)

I made stuffed peppers this week, but mine were not as healthy as yours! Great recipe! I like having individual servings in the freezer that I can just pop out for an easy supper for myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59