Recipe: Soft Cashew Cheese

in #food8 years ago (edited)

cashew cheese



A few years ago, I grudgingly decided to start looking for some alternatives to cheese and sour cream due to lactose intolerance issues for some of our family, including me. I have been an intense lover of cheese and sour cream and all things dairy...but those things were no longer loving me back (if they ever did). I'm not saying I'll never have brie or manchego or gouda again, but it's just not going to be an everyday thing.

I began playing around with some cashew cheese recipes I found and right away it provided a lot of flavor and satisfaction, especially considering how easy it was to make! I haven't thought about buying sour cream in years because it's so good. I have tried just about every kind of flavoring but I also make it plain a lot as well.

3 cups of raw cashews - soak for several hours (at least 4)
Add them to a high speed blender along with about 1/4 cup of the water

Add:

  • 2 Tbsp nutritional yeast flakes
  • Juice of 1 large lemon
  • 2 Tbsp cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp mustard (dijon is excellent)

Flavor options (mix and match them!):

  • Frank's hot sauce (about 2 Tbsp)
  • Fresh garlic - 1-2 cloves crushed
  • Chipotle pepper (I used canned peppers in adobo sauce - about 1 pepper)
  • Roasted red peppers - 1-2 peppers
  • Sundried tomatoes - 2-3 tomatoes
  • Ranch style - parsley, dill, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper

Blend it until it's really smooth. I've made it numerous times and it’s easy to do and hard to screw up.
I use it on sandwiches, add it to soups, on crackers or with chips, baked potatoes....it's so versatile.
You can also make a quick salad dressing by using a bit of plain cashew cheese and adding water and some spices.


I buy my cashews in bulk from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HKOCEVW/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&th=1


Happy Fooding!

Deanna2000 (still working on a logo) ;)

Sort:  

Oh, I'd shrivel up if I couldn't have milk. Of course, I could probably use a little shriveling anyway...

Have a logo contest!!

Ah!!! Yay, great idea about the logo :)

If you set it up, I'll share it too!

Thanks! I'll check out what other people have done for a logo contest and try to get that set up in the next day or so. :)

This Looks Yum

It's so easy too!

ooh. I love cashews and I love cheese. Now I'm very curious to see what this tastes like! It sounds delicious.

You won't be disappointed. I've also used it as a ricotta replacement in lasagna and it was wonderful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41