Steep & Chill with The Tea Spot

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Turning a new leaf on drinking

IMG_20180705_1756166.jpg

Recently, I decided to kick the Mountain Dew habit. I was drinking 2 cans a day and Doing the Dew on the weekends or when I ate out.

Knowing that drinking sodas was one of the things keeping me from losing weight, something had to be done. I was against just drinking water, because I know myself. And replacing the sugary soda with another sugary drink defeated the whole attempt. Tea was the way to go, but just not regular tea would do. So, I searched the Interwebs for iced herbal teas, which led me to The Tea Spot.

The Tea Spot sells loose leaf tea and they also had an iced tea setup made by Steepware called Steep & Chill. The picture allows you to steep the loose leaf tea and then you replace the core with an ice core to keep it cool without diluting the tea when the ice melts.

Since I didn't know which tea flavors I would like, I took advantage of a deal they had to get a 6 sampler tea collection and the Steep & Chill at 30% discount.

IMG_20180705_1737110~2.jpg

In the Steep & Chill package comes the picture, which looks like a large science beaker with a plastic bottom. Based on how it will be used, it is probably built the same way.

IMG_20180705_1736591.jpg

The ice core has a lid, so the water that you put in it doesn't come out. With the lid on, it screws into the picture lid, just like the infuser. The infuser is wider, so it screws into a different ring.

IMG_20180705_1736372.jpg

The package says it is dishwasher safe borosilicate glass. With that said, the quality of the container, lid, ice core and the tea infuser is very good and should last through many uses.

IMG_20180705_1738417.jpg

IMG_20180705_1747317-ANIMATION.gif

Since I don't have a kettle to boil water (for now), I had to use a pot to boil the 32oz needed. Each of the sample tins are big enough for filling the picture twice, which will be good for taking half of the tea with me to work and leaving another picture at home. You could put them together in the picture, there wouldn't be much room for the tea.

IMG_20180705_1747352.jpg

After I poured the boiling water into the picture, I put 4 heaping tea spoons of the Red Rocks tea blend into the infuser. The smell was wonderful.

IMG_20180705_1746326.jpg

After letting it steep for 6 minutes, I removed the infuser and put the picture in the fridge to cool overnight.

IMG_20180705_1756491.jpg

I put the ice core in the freezer so that it will be ready for the second batch tomorrow.

IMG_20180705_1756166.jpg

The instructions are so simple that they are printed on the box and the steeping instructions are printed on the tins. Since all of the sample teas requires boiling water, I just do the refrigerate overnight step to finish.

IMG_20180705_1740209~2.jpg

The sample also came with a single serving premium tea. That's a real tease or selling point, depending on how you look at it.

IMG_20180705_1737391~2.jpg

Now I have to wait until tomorrow to see how it tastes.


DeanLogicForkSing-verified.png
Steem Badges

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


DestroyAllBots.png
Trading on Bittrex and Binance
Claim Your Stake with a Stake Box
HODLin’
Stellar Lumen(XLM) -- Cardano (ADA) -- Digibyte(DGB)
Get your old school text-based gaming on.

Sort:  

hi!! should definitly try India tea also, known as Masala Chai .The tea leaves are boiled along with additions and then boiled again after the addition of milk and sugar. TeaSwan Offers High Quality And Purest Flavors Of Teas. Our Each Tea Purchase Comes With Organically And Ethically Grown Teas, Carefully Blended To Create The Perfect Cup. https://teaswan.com/pages/wholesale-tea-and-bulk-tea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63