Cooking with Steemit: Sir Ian McKellen's potato bake

in #food7 years ago

Ian McKellen's Potato Bake.png

I ran across this screencap on 4chan years ago in an infographic thread. It came from Sir Ian McKellen's AMA thread on Reddit a couple years back. It seemed like such a simple recipe, I had to keep it. And since then, I've made a few variations that turned into something amazing! Part of the joy of cooking is taking something that you've seen made, add your own personal twist to it, and make something similar, but completely your own. I made this last night, and it was a perfect meal for a cold winter day. Let's get cooking!

To make my variation on this, you'll need:
Potatoes
1 block cheddar cheese
sliced ham
1/3 white onion
vegetable oil

Spices:
Garlic
paprika
salt
cayenne pepper

IMG_20171226_180627.jpg

Cut the potatoes into slices. In this recipe, I used 2 Russets.

IMG_20171226_180632.jpg

Normally, I just use regular old sharp cheddar cheese. But since Christmas just came and went, the local Target Store had this amazing smoked cheddar cheese. Of course I'm going to use this! Take a cheese wire and cut the entire block into slices.

IMG_20171226_181137.jpg

This ham came pre-sliced, which was fantastic, until you realize that they're a trifle too big for what we need.

IMG_20171226_181223.jpg

Until you cut them up into smaller pieces! Problem solved! Kitty wanted to help...

IMG_20171226_181620.jpg

Take that 1/3 onion and chop it up. It doesn't need to be too finely chopped, just broken up into bite sized pieces.

IMG_20171226_181722.jpg

Add the onion and a little bit of vegetable oil to the bottom of a glass bakeware dish. We'll put everything else on top of this.

IMG_20171226_181753.jpg

Layer each part, standing them vertically, in the pan. I did potato-ham-cheese, though you can do it however you want. It's your recipe, you're the boss! Part of what makes cooking so awesome is you don't have to do it exactly the way I did it. You find what works best for you, and go with it.

IMG_20171226_181919.jpg

And you just keep going, and going, and going...

IMG_20171226_182305.jpg

Until you fill the pan! Stuff the extras in between the rows. I put potatoes on the outer edge, just to play buffer. Top with the spices. I like lots of garlic, so I add a fair amount on here. Add a dash of paprika and salt, and just a little bit of cayenne pepper to give it some kick. Go easy here, you're not looking to make it super spicy, unless you want it super spicy. In which case, go nuts!

IMG_20171226_182522.jpg

Cover with aluminum foil and bake at 375°F for 90 minutes.

IMG_20171226_194008.jpg

With about 20 minutes remaining, I pulled the foil off the pan and let the top get a little crispy.

IMG_20171226_195855.jpg

Beautiful! It's a masterpiece! There's just one tiny addition: a small dollop of sour cream over the top when you serve it. Warms your soul on a cold winter day, and it's super easy to make. If you're looking for an easy winter meal, this is fantastic!

Sort:  

It does look delicious... And its so easy to prepare. Highly nutritious too!

I support you with my resteem service


Your post has been resteemed to my 3000 followers

Resteem a post for free here

Power Resteem Service - The powerhouse for free resteems, paid resteems, random resteems

I am not a bot. Upvote this comment if you like this service

It really is a simple meal! And that feeds 4 comfortably. If you want to make a bigger batch, adjust the size accordingly. You could very easily scale that to feed 8 or 10 without a ton of effort.

This was the first steemit post I read and I have to say, it warms my heart to know that the steemit community is directly influencing change! @bijoy123

Thank you! I figured something like this would be of interest to people instead of the bot posts. Thanks to @abasinkanga helping me get more exposure for it, I'm able to share this excellent recipe with the world!

And yes, following me will definitely help me as much as it helps you. I post about a variety of topics, from gaming to cryptocurrency to cooking. I'm a jack of all trades, master of none.

Congratulations @ddrfr33k! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63476.24
ETH 2487.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68