The Bearded Dad Home Cook Chronicles Episode #2 Lazy man bbq pulled pork in a crock pot

in #food8 years ago
 Quick introduction. I am Dennis. I am a home cook, Husband, and Dad. I have been cooking since i have been old enough to reach the stove. I cook foods from a multitude of regions. I love doing it so i figured why not share some of the things i make.  


Do you ever feel lazy? Do you every not want to drag out the smoker or cut wood? Still want awesome pulled pork? well I have the solution for you. This is a very simple and easy way to make that delicious shredded BBQ pulled pork you love without the 18 hour smoke time. You can set this before work and be eating pulled pork after work. Sound good? OK lets go 

You will need 

1x 4-5 pound Pork butt roast or pick-nick roast or pretty much any slab of dead pig in that weight range.

1.5x cup your favorite BBQ sauce. I used a Texas style sauce because Texas style is thicker and sweeteer than most.

1.5x cups of 100% apple cider. Not the vinegar. the stuff you drink. make sure its 100% not some mix cheap crap 

Now you can either use your favorite spice rub or you can use the one I used. 

Spice rub

1/4x cup brown sugar

1x Tablespoon Hungarian paprika

1x Tablespoon spicy BBQ Seasoning (I use Mikes spicy and you can buy it online or use whatever one you can find at your local store)

1x Tablespoon seasoning salt

1x Teaspoon pepper


OK now its time for the fun stuff

Now that's a nice piece of meat. there will be a few "the internet has ruined me" moments in this.


OK use your spice rub or mine and really get down in there and rub that meat good. you want it in every nook and cranny. Don't skimp on the rub. if you have some left save it for the sauce 


The sauce. Mix the BBQ sauce and cider in the crock pot. Toss in the rest of the spice rub and whisk it all together


Pan sear the meat with a bit of olive oil to get a nice bark that would be normally missing from not smoking it. Make sure to sear it hot enough to make a nice crust but not enough to cook it through.


This is what you want your meat to look like 


Now toss your meat in the sauce. Drippings and all. set the crock pot on high for 6 hours or if you are going to be gone all day set it on low for 8-10. the good thing is with the sauce in there you cant really over cook it. idiot proof I tell you


Once you get home it should be fall apart tender. scoop it out of the pot and shred it. Mine came out so tender I just used tongs to shred it. No fork required. Does that not look amazing. 


Now you can either serve as is and save the sauce for your family to add as needed or you can do what i did and toss it all back in the pot with the sauce and let it go for another hour on low to let it mingle and the sauce to cook down a bit to make a nice thick sweet delicious sauced meat. Trust me it taste amazing either way.


If going with the later options this is what you will get. My mouth is watering just typing this lol. Luckily there is plenty of leftovers.


And all done. mmmmmm dead pig yummmmmm


There you have it. delicious moist flavor packed pulled pork in a crock pot. Serve it by itself like I did with some fries, put it on nachos, put it on a bun, toss it on top of a burger, the possibilities are endless. Feel free to comment any questions you might have. 

Sort:  

Looks Good!

@anns thanks it's really good

I Bet It Is!
I Bookmarked This Recipe.
Will Go Back To It,
When I Fix it In A New Crockpot.
:))

Awesome let me know what you think when you make it @anns

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44