You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fried Wild Oyster Mushrooms (gluten free)

in #food7 years ago

I have never considered (essentially) deep frying oysters before - I always just pan fry them in some butter. But this is a much better idea. I wonder if it would help compensate for the lesser flavor of store bought oysters as well.... only one way to find out :)

Sort:  

I've never deep friend them either, always pan fried (typically in butter too!) I just can't do store bought mushrooms anymore but have never seen oysters available in store (farmers markets don't count right?) Try the deep fry and let me know how it is!

I think of breading and frying as a form of deep frying - I suppose what I mean is, I never bread them - I just pan fry them unbreaded and brown them. But this kind of breaded frying, like a chicken cutlet, is a great idea. Probably would make an awesome parmigian along with eggplant

haha, yet another cultural thing I was completely obvious of before steemit. Here in the 'South' (aka backwoods NC) then this is just pan frying. Deep frying is dropping something into a massive deep vat of oil and letting it swim until it's crispy. Sauteeing to me is more what you are describing as pan frying.

Great idea with the parmigiana oysters & eggplant....may have to give that a try one day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 63252.28
ETH 3044.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52