A Jersey Gal Tries Traditional-Classic British Sweets ! 10 CandiessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Copy of Copy of Copy of steemit covers (1).png

What happens when an American gal from New Jersey is brought to a traditional English Candy shop by her dear @teamhumble? Well… for one, she walks away with 3 bags of sweets in the name of good international relations, but she also has a proper analytical tasting!

VSCO Cam-1-6.jpg

Let's GO!!

DISCLAIMER TIME! The following is a very incomplete first-impressions of a bunch of sweets that we picked up at a little shop in town. It is meant purely for entertainment. If you are a British sweets-historian or connoisseur please don’t be offended by my impressions and/or sheer lack of knowledge.

Rubharb & Custard

8.png

First Impressions:

Ooh pretty swirly pink and yellow!

Tastes Like:

Actual tart rhubarb and creamy vanilla custard.. how in the world?? Do they have Wonka working back there???

Overall:

YES PLEASE! Super Yum!

White Center Strawbs

9.png

First Impressions:

Super similar to the Haribo variety if you're familiar with British sweets. If you're American you'll know what I mean when I say they taste like marshmellow peeps with a tart strawberry sugar on the outside!

Tastes Like:

Chewy marshmellowy strawberry fields of wonderment and joy- YUMZOR.

Overall:

Um... why didn't we buy more of these!!

Wine Gums

10.png

First Impressions:

They're fruit shaped and gummy, I'm in.

Tastes Like:

Like the best- actual fruit juice flavored-gummy candy.

Overall:

Not too hard, and not too squish, definitely chewable but I like to savor them by letting them dissolve- very nice. Thumbs up and smiles all' round!

Straight-Up-Toffee

3.png

First Impressions:

Are these like Werther's Original??

Tastes Like:

OMG THEY'RE LIKE WERTHER'S ORIGINAL!!!

Overall:

Do NOT step to the Brits when it comes to toffee. First Thorton's and now this? Tell my dentist, I'm sorry.

Hard Candy Pears

4.png

First Impressions:

Have I ever had a PEAR flavored candy?? Dammnit now all I can think of is Rick Ross

Tastes Like:

Woaaa, so THAT's what a pear candy tastes like... like a slightly sweeter, slightly more sour version of an actual ripe pear.

Overall:

Super yummy, not TOO sweet but I wish it was about 1/2 the size. It's hard, so I would NOT advise crunching it, but waiting for it to dissolve became a chore after awhile, a bit too much of a good thing. But tasty none the less..

MEGA SOURS

5.png

First Impressions:

Fear. And that pre sour thing that happens in your jaw beneath your ears happened....

Tastes Like:

PAIN. Straight pain. I guess the flavor was, green apple, but the sour just DID NOT QUIT like it does with most sour sweets like Warheads in the states. I thought this thing was going to burn a hole through my tongue.

Overall:

We were told that these are actually a part of a challenge the shop holds for kids to see who can stand them the most. Proceed with caution. If you're a masochist you'll love these.

Midget Gems

6.png

First Impressions:

C-can... you still call them that in 2018? I feel weird, but they look like Jujubees! And I REALLY like Jujubees!

Tastes Like:

Betrayal.
These do NOT taste like Jujubees. They taste like the perfume department at Macys...

Overall:

Not for me -- [passes bag to @teamhumble]

Toffee Pinwheels

7.png

First Impressions:

I can tell I'm going to be into these. Have I told you before that I love toffee?

Tastes Like:

Toffee in salt-water-taffy form. Ultra sticky and lovely.... makes your mouth water in the best way.

Overall:

Note to self - Toffee Pinwheels are your friend Dayle..

Chocolate Limes (Hard Candy)

1.png

First Impressions:

Where's the chocolate? All I see is Lime- I like lime!

Tastes Like:

A party, the lime bit is SUPER.... until you get to the melty chocolate inside, which was like the rain cloud at the perfectly lovely family cookout.

Overall:

FOR WHY???? This may be more of an intellectual problem than a taste bud one, but I just can't wrap my brain around those two flavors in concert - Pass.

Coconut Mushrooms

2.png

First Impressions:

OOH squisheyyy and marshmellowey, and I think I see caramel too- excite!

Tastes Like:

Not what I expected! It took me forever to place the taste, but I FINALLY came up with it. There's a super old school candy my Dad used to get us, called NECCO wafers. I have zero clue how to explain that flavor other than sweet and a bit chakly... but in a way I don't mind! Super nice!

Overall:

These brought me back to that indescribable childhood taste. Would consume again!

That's it! Tell me Brits of Steemit- what did we miss?? What are your favorite sweeties that you think I should try next! If we get enough suggestions I'd be HAPPY to do a round two... you know, for RESEARCH PURPOSES OF COURSE! ಠ_ಠ

IMG_3477.JPG

Hope you enjoyed this fun little post! Until next time fellow sweet-toothers!
<3 Dayleeo

Sort:  

An impressive collection of sweets... Your description of each kind made me wanna take them all lol... I wish they had a British candy shop here :O

Haha where are you if I may ask? These are super traditional ones but even in the states they sometimes have an “international” section with some of the more mainstream ones ;)

I'm in Dubai... No British candy shops here for sure.... I will have to fly to the UK to grab those candies

Aah well when you do don’t be shy! You really can’t gonwrong with British sweets :) it’s an art form they’ve perfected

So much candy!! I love it!

Haha this country is a sweet tooth’s dream let me tell you!

Wow! Just wow! I love the impressive and colorful array of containers. You've got a witty and funny take on your whole experience tasting them. Made me want to raid a candy store if we had even one from here. This really perked me up early in the morning. Like a little child squealing due to so much excitement. O please, do more of these. Looking forward to your postings for your next visits!

Wow thanks for such kind words @raquelita! I’m glad my journey into the sweets of England brightened your day- that makes me so glad to hear!!!

I just love all candy, Man, it all looks so yummy. And i love the descriptions of all of them, beautiful color, we can't forget that! well done!

You can tell there’s a lot of passion and legacy that goes into candy recipes this old- was super cool to try- the guy behind the counter knew the history of each one! Super cool and tasty learning experience for sure

dayleeo!! hi my dear friend .your post is the very very special for
our healthy body .

I love British candy shops. All that lovely candy and nicely displayed. The smell is enough to send me into sugar overload!

they really have it down to an art form!

I love rhubarb and custards! I didn't see any flying saucers!

Also, how much better is UK and EU milk chocolate than the so called 'chocolate' we are forced to eat in the States!

Also, I love turkish delights, but not sure that they are technically a sweet?

Almost everyone's chocolate is better than what we have in the US I'm afraid, Unless you're talking about some of the specialty and craft stuff you can get by small makers like Mast Brothers (which I actually found a mast brother's store in London!)

Gotta jump on the flying saucers-- are the kind of like multi colored wafers?

They are pretty old school but they are coloured rice paper with sherbet in (fizzy powder sherbet not icy sherbet)

We have a local Cape Cod chocolatier in Orleans Chocolate Sparrow that makes the BEST homemade chocolate and they use it in their cafe mocha's so GOOD. It still is not good as UK chocolate to me, even Maltesers are better than the choc. we get here.

ooh i'm INTO maltesers, way better than whoppers hehe!

I prefer dark chocolate on the whole, but put me in a room with a box of kinder chocolates and we have an issue if you're expecting leftovers ;)

Oh my gosh, they all look so delicious! I want to try them all :D

On the whole they were AWESOME !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94